We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old dirty hotel, the kind you can't even walk around in without shoes.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45440 Holiday Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An old dirty hotel, the kind you can't even walk around in without shoes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I purchased two rooms and requested adjoining rooms at the reservation. The front desk did not have any and the girls was not very friendly. We actually were just going to cancel our reservation but they got us two rooms next door to each other. We travel with a small dog that has traveled his entire life, so we have stayed at many pet friendly hotels. I picked this hotel because it had a 20. a night fee per pet and we only needed two rooms for one night. Big mistake!!! The pet friendly room smelled bad when we arrived, but the carpets were wet so we left for dinner to let them dry. We returned to a room the smelled even worse, it REAKED of cat urine:-( A very strong musty disgusting smell. My husband went to the front and they gave us a can of Lysol neutra air freshner. I was nauseas from the smell all night and could not sleep, I had to keep spraying the air fresher all night so my 5& 6 year old daughters could sleep. Do yourself a favor and stay at the mariott which only cost about 10.00 more per night. I usually stay at there properties but I did not want to pay the 100. pet fee. Which is a total cost per stay that is usually a great deal but not on a one day trip or so I thought. After I was given the air fresher as this hotels solution to this disgusting odor I would of gladly paid the extra 80.00 pet deposit. Truly the worst place I have stayed at. I will never stay here again and would not recommend this place to anyone. They had a chance to resolve our issue and did not. They should of moved us to another room not given us a can of air fresher! So tacky and it just shows you what you can expect if you have an issue here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Happywifeandmama,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that your experience was not a pleasant one and that it did not exceed your expectations as we try to do with all of our guests. I have met with our Executive Housekeeper, as well as our Chief Engineer to discuss the issues that you had in your room. We will be retraining all of our staff on properly inspecting our guestrooms to prevent anyone from being checked into a room that has issues such as the ones that you experienced. I have also met with the front desk staff regarding the service that you received throughout your stay. One of our main goals is to make sure that all of our guests leave happy and I’m sorry that we weren’t able to turn your experience around before your departure. I did have a chance to speak with your husband and refunded you for that night, I hope that the resolution is satisfactory for you. I can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel. We strive to deliver the best product and service to ensure that all of our guests are happy and will stay with us again. Please contact me if you will be traveling to the DC Metro area in the future so I can make your next stay perfect.

Marisol Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    40
    16
    15
See reviews for
67
51
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. The staff was excellent and made sure I was okay. It was only for one night, but I would stay again, even longer next time. Location if you picking up from Dulles, is right on. No problems in or out and it only took 7 minutes from the hotel. I like that is away from all the stores and traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel had two floors and no elevator. If I had known this ahead of time, I would not have stayed at the hotel. However, I did not ask the question when making the reservations. The staff was helpful with my luggage getting me to my room and getting in downstairs the next morning. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband & I have stayed at this particular hotel in Sterling many times & have always been impressed with both the hotel itself & the friendly staff. The rooms are always very clean. If there are any problems, the staff responds promptly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was returning from Nashville to Nova Scotia when United Airlines included a no-expenses paid 11 hour layover at Dulles. I made an online reservation through Best Western, securing a one bed room for approximately $68.00 (USD) including taxes, shuttle and breakfast. The shuttle was at the airport when I arrived, check-in was quick and easy, and a good recommendation for some delivery food made the evening easy and restful. The room itself was clean and efficiently layed out (fridge/microwave under the sink, small bathroom), but for a short overnight, met all my needs (especially the air-conditioning -- it was warm out!). The in-room amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soap, abundance of towels) meant that I didn't need to unpack all my gear, which made an early morning easier. It's not a property for a long term vacation, but easy outside access, efficient shuttles, decent breakfast and courteous staff, combined with an outstanding price, made this a good choice for me.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if your suitcase is heavy, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual signs about "Green" and reusing towels was there.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear David_in_Nova_Scotia,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and letting us know how me met all of your needs, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Best regards,

Marisol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

it was fine for what we needed for the night. the staff was friendly and let us have a small get together in the lobby. besides that, the rooms are typical, but not lovely. clean and fine, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Address: 45440 Holiday Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sterling
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#7 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Inn Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. This Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Dulles Expo Center, Wolf Trap Center for the Performing Arts and the National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Dulles
Dulles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.