We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45440 Holiday Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The good - airport shuttle clean and prompt, breakfast better than average, shower had hot water and good pressure, and the bed was comfortable. The annoying - the base price goes up considerably for sleep/fly. The price was supposed to be $80something, but ended up being $130. We decided to go for it anyway. However, when we got there, we were charged another $20 because we needed eight days and the price they gave us was for up to seven days of parking. We were not told about the extra $20 when we made the reservation and gave them the number of days we would need parking. It felt like 'bait and switch' to us. The disappointing - the desk had an attitude with my son-in-law (although the one who checked us in was pleasant) and acted like she was doing him a big favor by answering his questions. The rooms are tired, the a/c heating unit is noisy, and the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. Next time we will choose one of the many other airport hotels.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you, Crcb, for your candid comments regarding a recent stay at the Best Western Washington Dulles. I was thrilled to read your kind remarks regarding such services as the shuttle and breakfast, comfort of bed and water pressure. Our Park and Fly package is a great value as the airport charges a minimum of $11 per day. However, I apologize for any difficulty you experienced in booking the rate online and the impression you received for the extra day's rate. Due to your comments, we are reviewing the website to ensure ease of use and accuracy of information. I apologize for the attitude and inappropriate behavior of our guest service agent.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Washington Dulles. We continue to be the best value in the immediate area and look forward to a future chance to show you our typically high levels of service.


Yours in Hospitality,

Marisol Rodriguez
Best Western Dulles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    73
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
30
35
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This BW hotel is better than most; however, do not confuse this with the higher class “Best Western Plus” grade of hotels. Make no mistake, this really is a roadside motel and you will find rooms are accessed from exterior doors and a map may be required to find your room. The Wi-Fi worked, there is a nice flat screen TV with a good range of channels, in-room coffee maker, and there were sufficient towels available.

This Best Western’s overall room product is better than most and the housekeeping was good. My only complaint was the cover to the heating unit in my room had fallen off. There is no restaurant at this Best Western; but, an adjacent Holiday Inn has a small pub which delivers to this hotel’s rooms.

The free breakfast is fairly typical of most limited service type properties - do it yourself waffle, fruit, yogurt, cereals, donuts, breads, juices, and a selection of coffees and teas. The hotel begins breakfast at 6:00 AM and permits the shuttle passengers to grab a quick breakfast a few minutes before departing on the hour.

If you are a Dulles passenger, it will take you nearly as long to get to the shuttle boarding area as it takes to go the four miles to the hotel. Beware - the shuttle operates each half hour and you are well advised to call the hotel to find out when to expect your pickup time. During foul weather there is very little protection from the elements and you might want to wait in the terminal until the last possible moment.

The hotel's shuttle to Dulles departs on the hour and half hour; however, seats are limited and you need to reserve your seat to ensure your get back to the airport in time for your flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the adjacent highway to ensure you get a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Everything was great. The only thing we did not realized when booking is that the room doors are on the outside of the facility. Room was great. Breakfast was great. Great for 1 or 2 nights. Convenient to DC.

The only con was the night staff when we checked in, about 6pm. Not wearing clothes/uniform to indicate they were associated with the hotel and somewhat unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Was not greeted by a courteous front desk person, checked in, room a/c unit was extremely noisey, complained and asked to be moved, she sent maintenance man to my room (hotel was about 75% empty so why notice me) he agreed a/c was a very old unit. Maintenance man obtained a key to another room for us, door would not close unless you slammed it and it was a battle to open it (life safety issue), wireless Internet would not let me open a simple web page after waiting give minutes! Checked in, changed rooms, loaded luggage back in car and checked out in an hours time. Went back the next day to retrieve personal items left behind, they still had me checked in the room! Front desk person made sure she took a bite of her cookie then asked me can I help you with a mouth full of cookie! Gross, unprofessional and lacking intelligent life. Oh the maintenance man was courteous and apologetic, that's cool he realized the inability of others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Jaberwocky69

First of all I would like thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I appreciate hearing from you so that I can look into these issues.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Shelby Clark, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel staff is excellent and customer oriented. I made use of the fitness center which was available 24 hours a day. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast area exceeds a continental breakfast by having waffles, eggs and a breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The staff is wonderful and it is excellently located near Dulles Airport and the Loudoun County Technology corridor. The lobby is inviting and well decorated for the holidays. Breakfast was warm, abundant, aand well displayed. Overall well worth the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn

Address: 45440 Holiday Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sterling
#2 Green Hotel in Sterling
#6 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Inn Dulles Airport provides lodging near Dulles Airport and Dulles Town Center. This Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located near area attractions, such as Chantilly Dulles Expo Center, Wolf Trap Center for the Performing Arts and the National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Hampton Inn Dulles
Dulles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.