We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, pretty, and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Sterling
Attraction details
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful, pretty, and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a lovely regional park. Lots of outdoor space and great, leisurely walking trails. Reservation fees for shelters/cooking areas are reasonable and parking is adequate or sufficient most days. I haven't explored the water park yet, but it looks clean and fun. It's usually busy, but not overly so during the week.The walking trails are low-key and not strenous. The only real drawback, is that the river itself does have some pollution issues - so there is junk piled up in some areas - not the park's fault. Also, some people will sit in the usually quieter areas and then blast music. Personally, i think this is kind of rude. Some people will smoke and that's rude, too. And then there is the requisite dog-deposits. You have to watch out for those. Like all parks, it has its plusses and minuses - but overall it's a lovely park, year round.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Golf course is in excellent condition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A weekday walking rate is very reasonable -- $21 for 18 before twilight, 13.50 for 9, and 10.50 for 9 after twilight. The course is in as good a shape as I have ever seen it -- greens are smooth, and firm, and almost all the traps have been renovated with new sand and improved drainage.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Park visit with Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great venue for having an event. Church related event that included service, food and event set up and break down.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach,va
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“North Face Endurance Races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wow, there is so much to do at this park. The trails are beautiful. The baseball fields are very well maintained. Biking would have been nice but we didn't bring our bikes. Paddle boating is so much fun and a good way to see much of the park. Truly a beautiful park.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice View of The River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I met some friends here so we could walk our dogs. I liked the pathway near the river. Humans and canines enjoyed the park. We even saw a few deer! Of course, the deer mean that it is important to check humans and canines for ticks before leaving. There was a reasonably large gravel parking area.

I have heard the waterpark is fun. I have not tried it. There are lovely picnic areas (we had a company picnic here several years ago).

This is a nice place to spend a day away from traffic/noise/crowds.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonkian Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.