We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have visited Algonkian Park several times whether it be to picnic at a pavilion or just sit and look at the river. I have not played at Volcano Waterpark although every time I head there it appears that everyone is having a ball.

My sister and her family for me to drive through the park at dusk as the deer are right beside the road or following the golfers. They love the peacefulness and can't believe the deer are that close.

The park always seems to have something going on. I have not stayed in the cabins, but have used the pavilions for office events.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location for any size gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Next to the Patomac River, beautiful year around . Golf, Swimming in season with some sleeping cabins available. We've had numerous gatherings there and alwayse enjoyed the location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice park, good view, good for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The park is by the Potomac river so the view is beautiful. There are picnic tables and facilities for soccer and volleyball. The walk through the golf course is beautiful and relaxing. Great for families. Boating dock. There is the Potomac Heritage Trail nearby for mountain biking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best regional park in N VA! Has it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Best public park I have ever been to. I go 4 or 5 times a year and it always is a delight .Has sports field, golf, cabins, waterpark , rv storage and is on Potomac River with plenty of picnic areas .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great view and well maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This park sits on the banks of the Potomac River and is well maintained. It has boat launch facilities, picnic tables, covered shelters, porta potties, open fields, plenty of parking. It also has overnight facilities and a water park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonkian Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.