We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for any size gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in Sterling
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location for any size gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Next to the Patomac River, beautiful year around . Golf, Swimming in season with some sleeping cabins available. We've had numerous gatherings there and alwayse enjoyed the location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice park, good view, good for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The park is by the Potomac river so the view is beautiful. There are picnic tables and facilities for soccer and volleyball. The walk through the golf course is beautiful and relaxing. Great for families. Boating dock. There is the Potomac Heritage Trail nearby for mountain biking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best regional park in N VA! Has it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best public park I have ever been to. I go 4 or 5 times a year and it always is a delight .Has sports field, golf, cabins, waterpark , rv storage and is on Potomac River with plenty of picnic areas .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great view and well maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This park sits on the banks of the Potomac River and is well maintained. It has boat launch facilities, picnic tables, covered shelters, porta potties, open fields, plenty of parking. It also has overnight facilities and a water park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Review of Volcano Waterpark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here at 4:30 pm on a Wednesday which was perfect timing as all of the summer day campers were boarding their buses to leave. It was our first time here so I wasn't sure what to expect. There are two pool areas, one for younger kids up to 9-10 years old where they play in 2 feet of water with a big play area and one of the buckets that dump water on them every few minutes. My younger kids loved it! Then there is a bigger pool that has a shallow end of 2 feet up to the deeper end of 5 feet. My 8 year olds had a blast going down the waterslides over and over for hours. My 12 year old hung out with me in the 5 feet and we enjoyed it and it wasn't overly crowded. They do have a snackbar although its mainly fried food so we brought food from home to eat. The pool areas were all clean. They have an open changing area in the bathrooms and showers but I was not happy with the way they were kept. It was dark and dirty looking so I plan on sending them a complaint. I would suggest to wear flip flops if you need to use the restroom. Overall my kids loved it so we plan on returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonkian Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Algonkian Regional Park to your Saves list