We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano Island water park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in Sterling
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Volcano Island water park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited this park only to go to Volcano Island water park, and absolutely loved it. The pools and slides were perfect for our kids 7 & 4 years old, but older and younger kids seemed to be having a great time too. I can't believe the incredible value this park provides - hours of fun in the water for just about $7 per kid! We'll definitely be back and the kids are looking forward to doing the bigger water slides as they get taller (there's a 48" height requirement for the biggest of the slides, though there are still plenty to enjoy for kids that aren't that tall).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Variety of activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As some others have said, I am not sure this is a DESTINATION if you happen to be in the area. But if you live here or are in the area on business and just want to get out, you may find something of interest here. There are a number of activities in the park...a golf course, a driving range, a few trails, picnic areas and shelters for group picnics, a water park, road/paved space for biking, fishing along the Potomac River, a boat launch for motor boats and/or kayaks and canoes. The Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail can use accessed from here and travels through points like Seneca,
Riverbend and Great Falls if you are up for a several mile hike. You can also park a car here if you want it to be a starting or end point for a longer hike.

The park itself is free to enter, you pay for what you do or use. So you can enter for free and bike or walk a trail. You can pay to golf, go to the water park, stay in a cabin, etc.

So while it's not its own destination most likely, it has solid offerings if you are looking for something close with a variety of activities.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

There is everything here: picnic tables and covered pavilions with clean bathrooms, cottages for rent, a water park, miniature golf, walking trails,and RV parking. It is right on the Potomac River that is a gem to see. Just a wonderful, free park. A great place to visit and see the river and have a picnic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So-so place to go...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This park is very close to my house and quite popular here in the Sterling area. But, if you and your family decide to spend a weekend getaway here coming from a place far away, please don't do that. It's honestly not worth it. I personally think that locals are the only people that can benefit from this park. Reason being, it's not much of a spectacular place, it's nice to hang out at for a day. The river is oh my gosh, so bad and I don't even think it's the highlight of this attraction. And, the only reason why I am giving this attraction a 3 star rating is because of the great little benches and tables they have for picnics, playground, golf course, baseball field, and swimming pool. But, all of these have never really struck me to be amazing. But, I think locals have appreciated this place a lot over the years because of the great accessibility.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is by far the worst park I have EVER been to. Many people don't leash their dogs and let them to wander. One even ran up to me out-of-the-blue and bit my upper foot. We exchanged numbers and it turns out the owner refused to cooperate. Afterwards, I had to spend my whole day in the hospital.. Rude people and HORRIBLE park. We saw many people swimming in the river when there is a clear NO SWIMMING sign in the entrance. I've been here many times and was astonished at how the park was poorly maintain. The water was disgusting and polluted with beer bottles and soda cans everywhere along the edges. There was also litter all over he ground. To me it didn't feel like a naturalistic park. It was more like a dumpster from those of a third world country. Feel free to come here if you want to see a marshy wasteland and loud and obnoxious people,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonkian Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Algonkian Regional Park to your Saves list