We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Park” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is by far the worst park I have EVER been to. Many people don't leash their dogs and let them to wander. One even ran up to me out-of-the-blue and bit my upper foot. We exchanged numbers and it turns out the owner refused to cooperate. Afterwards, I had to spend my whole day in the hospital.. Rude people and HORRIBLE park. We saw many people swimming in the river when there is a clear NO SWIMMING sign in the entrance. I've been here many times and was astonished at how the park was poorly maintain. The water was disgusting and polluted with beer bottles and soda cans everywhere along the edges. There was also litter all over he ground. To me it didn't feel like a naturalistic park. It was more like a dumpster from those of a third world country. Feel free to come here if you want to see a marshy wasteland and loud and obnoxious people,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank City_Food_is_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coaldale, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Cottages right on the Potomac riverbank. 2-4 bedrooms, surprisingly reasonable rate (for that area). Clean, comfortable, kitchen/basics for cooking. Near to Giant food store for supplies. Meeting space on site for retreats. Discount on golf (I think). Need to arrive/check-in during specific hours, as they close an entrance gate (guest have access keys) Don't lock your key in your cottage!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a lazy day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice place by the river, allowing for water sports, picnics, relaxation and wildlife watching. There is a kid's playground, walking trails and plenty space to enjoy your time outdoors.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beautiful park on the Potomac Rive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The leaves were beautiful and a great place just to walk and enjoy. We frequently boat of this park the water is shallow, the fishin is usual good. Lots of kayakers, a few jet skis, and a park full of people in the summer cooking out and enjoying the scen

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank justmemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great afternoon hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great to take the family & kids on an afternoon hike! They also have a playground if you have little ones

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyzim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing