We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to spend a lazy day out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in Sterling
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Brisbane
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a lazy day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice place by the river, allowing for water sports, picnics, relaxation and wildlife watching. There is a kid's playground, walking trails and plenty space to enjoy your time outdoors.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“beautiful park on the Potomac Rive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The leaves were beautiful and a great place just to walk and enjoy. We frequently boat of this park the water is shallow, the fishin is usual good. Lots of kayakers, a few jet skis, and a park full of people in the summer cooking out and enjoying the scen

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great afternoon hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great to take the family & kids on an afternoon hike! They also have a playground if you have little ones

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This park offered a lot of different activities for my three children. From a reasonably priced waterpark, picnic areas, nature trails to explore, and a playground area. The perfect place to have some family fun.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Busy Park with Great Views of the Potomac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is good for what I use it for. I go here with my dogs for short hikes. I have not taken advantage of the full spectrum of what Algonkian Park has to offer. Nor will I ever, since much of it is geared towards children. However for a very local place it works in a pinch with great views of the Potomac River. The downside...it's a well used park. So, you do not go here if you want a secluded experience. And if you have dogs, be very prepared for most park visitors to be visibly afraid of them.

The park offers a waterpark, boat launch, golfing, rental cabins, access to golfing and a small trail system.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonkian Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Algonkian Regional Park to your Saves list