We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Busy Park with Great Views of the Potomac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Algonkian Regional Park

Algonkian Regional Park
47001 Fairway Dr., Sterling, VA 20165
703 450-4655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Busy Park with Great Views of the Potomac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is good for what I use it for. I go here with my dogs for short hikes. I have not taken advantage of the full spectrum of what Algonkian Park has to offer. Nor will I ever, since much of it is geared towards children. However for a very local place it works in a pinch with great views of the Potomac River. The downside...it's a well used park. So, you do not go here if you want a secluded experience. And if you have dogs, be very prepared for most park visitors to be visibly afraid of them.

The park offers a waterpark, boat launch, golfing, rental cabins, access to golfing and a small trail system.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cabins are very nice for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We recently stayed for four nights at the cabins. The park is beautiful, right on the Potomac.
The golf course is gorgeous and very difficult. The water park is small, but nice. There is a miniature golf course (18 holes) and ample hiking trails.
A few things I would have liked to know before coming to the park:
1. No alcohol allowed period. Even for guests of the cabin. Although it wasn’t like any one checked.
2. Park closes at dark. Cabin guests are locked in but they do provide a key to the gate if necessary.
3. The towels are really poor. Bring you own. Don't say I didn't warn you!
4. Bring bug repellant in summer. You might also need a mouse trap. Cabin 4 has a pretty good sized mouse.
5. The beds are doubles, twins, or sofa beds. No queens or kings here.
6. Kitchens are well equipped.
7. Good wi-fi in cabin 4. Not sure about the others but I assume so.
8. Beds are firm but generally good.
9. Very nice laundry facility.
10. They could really use an exterminator. Lots of critters.
11. Cabin guests have free access to the water park, miniature golf, pool, and discounted greens fees at the golf course.

Overall, a very nice stay.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a nice wonderful picnic spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

also, there is golf, and swimming. a really great family place.hey also have cabins that are a really great options to the hotels in the DC area. there is bus access during the week to get to the metro system in DC right outside the park. a real perk for a vacation

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Algonkian offers a good variety of things to do and is very restful, besides being close to Leesburg, as well as Tyson's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a nice park with a walking path along the river. There are picnic tables and shelters available. If you want to fish, launch your canoe, or sit and watch the river, this is a nice getaway spot.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algonkian Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Algonkian Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algonkian Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.