We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Rec Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claude Moore Park Recreation Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Claude Moore Park Recreation Center
46105 Loudoun Park Ln, Sterling, VA 20164
571 258-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Sterling
Type: Sports Complexes
Attraction Details
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Family Rec Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place is fantastic - in design and function. There is a little something for the whole family. The olympic-sized pool is quiet and clean, and rarely overly busy. There is a great track ringing the upper level and this is also rarely overly busy. Honestly, "rarely overly busy" could describe the entire facility. The kid's rec pool is often busy, and the major downside is that they don't allow you to take infants in without a gigantic life-vest. I get that it's a liability and safety thing, but when you're trying to teach your infant/toddler to swim, it's a major limitation. We actually had to stop using the facility regularly for this very reason and find elsewhere to teach our little-one to swim. But otherwise, it's got solidly flexible hours of use and is a fantastic place to spend time with the whole family. During the summer months it is VERY busy in the kid/family pool area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Luxurious gym and pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

At county rec center prices! Olympic lane pool and huge kids pool with slides. Lots of gym equipment. Basketball and handball courts. Indoor track if you want to run in bad weather! I take my nieces and nephews here to burn up some extra energy. Cheap daily fees or monthly memberships.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
821 reviews 821 reviews
393 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Historic, interactive, and beautiful! This place is worth going back to. We went for their 4th of July festivities, and we had a great time--5 adults and one child. I highly recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Maybe not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

There are many nice amenities at this park center. The pool is generally crowded due to the use by local high schools and swim clubs for practice. The youth pool is disturbingly warm which conjures up thoughts of a bacteria breeding ground.The fitness area is generally not too crowded which is nice. But overall the price of admission is too high to make this a family friendly rec center.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The leisure pool is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I like taking my son to the leisure pool here. The price is way too high considering it is a government run center. The lap pool is always busy but it's nice that's it is separate from the leisure pool. I think the rules are too strict sometimes, no jumping even to a parent (like in the swimming lessons) no kids in the hot tub, can't even dangle their toes in.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claude Moore Park Recreation Center also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Claude Moore Park Recreation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claude Moore Park Recreation Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.