We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claude Moore Park/Lanesville Heritage Area

Claude Moore Park/Lanesville Heritage Area
21544 Old Vestal's Gap Rd., Sterling, VA 20164
571 258-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Sterling
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The rec center is clean well maintained and the staff is always so friendly and helpful. Best time to go for seniors is during the mid day time frame. I've taken my grandkids fishing in the ponds out back and we had such fun!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have taken our kids here several times. The climbing wall is great! The pool is also good. It has a mini lazy river running through and a big tube slide. It is especially good for little kids because there is a designated area for them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a lovely peaceful place amidst hectic suburbia, and at this point it is still very natural. Lanesville has a wonderful history; built in 1779

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely historical park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

300-year-old house with outbuildings, good explanation of the local history. Native Americans, George Washington, enslaved African Americans, and civil war soldiers all walked the old trail that goes through the park. Quiet, beautiful location. Small information building provides some background.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A birder's review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I just moved to Loudoun and I am just starting to check out new birding spots for me to haunt. I enjoyed this location, even in winter. There are two ponds, several walking options, and a bit of history. I am looking forward to returning during the spring to do some birding. If you are not a birder, this is an interesting site to walk a portion of the historic Vestals Gap Road and learn. Ore about the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claude Moore Park/Lanesville Heritage Area also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Claude Moore Park/Lanesville Heritage Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claude Moore Park/Lanesville Heritage Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.