We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Didn't Find It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Toltecos Restaurante

Los Toltecos Restaurante
50 Pidgeon Hill Drive, Sterling, VA 20164
703 421-3380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 190 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Virginia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Almost Didn't Find It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, if you're not familiar with this shopping center, this restaurant may be hard to find, especially as the bushes and trees start to fill in. Find it on your mapping program before you leave the house.
We were surprised at how many people were there on a weeknight, and from the looks of the crowd, this was a family place. The decor is bright color gaudy. Although the wait staff was Hispanic, the customers were not, so that usually translates to Mexican food to suit the American palate. My husband got the usual for him (tacos) and I had the chimichanga platter. Everything was fine and priced reasonably. The service was excellent. We were pleased with what we had and will be going back to try some of their other options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reliable food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Los Toltecos has become our go to place for Mexican food. It's always clean, the food good, the service very friendly and fast. We've never had bad service which if you live in NOVA you know is rare! I generally order the chicken chimi, my husband is a little more adventurous and has ordered a bit of everything. Chips and salsa are guite tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place for all taco/fajita lovers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The place is nice and the staff is friendly. All the meals are a bit the same (choice of meat, beans, rice and cheese) with some slight variances but if you are hungry for a taco, fajita or chalupa this is the place to go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not amazing, but really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I'm from the south, so Mexican food up here just doesn't even compare to what I'm used to. This is by far the best Mexican food I've had in town. The quesidillas are huge and very tasty, the nachos are pretty darn good, the tacos are great, the queso/cheese dip is pretty good, the salsa is great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK Mexican food for the East Coast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a pretty good meal here. Being from California, we never expect too much from a Mexican restaurant. I had the scallop and shrimp chimichanga. It is really two small chimis, just grilled scallops and shrimp in the deep fried tortilla, rice and beans on the side. It was different but good.
The service was spotty, I think she was too worried about doing her side work. The place is a little bright, but clean.
Overall, a pretty good meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Toltecos Restaurante also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Los Toltecos Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Toltecos Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.