We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 203 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Refined menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Has refined their menu over time-found what works and what didn't. Would like to see better selection of wines, also my red wine was served too warm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great, fresh and unique food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We loved this restaurant. They offered a casual, clean and modern environment. They provide options in Small, medium and large plates. Very similar to a tapas restaurant.
This allowed us to try a wide variety of items and we enjoyed them all.
The Scallops were maybe the best that I have ever had.
Service was great
Go and enjoy this restaurant, you'll be glad you did.
We'll be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATESVILLE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MOKOMANDY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Different and very good. Tasty (spicy but not too hot) flavors in Tapas size dishes. Korean cajun moniker for its food is misleading.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Mix of Canjun and Korean Delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at Mokomandy's in Sterling, VA. This is truly a hidden gem in our area. The restaurant is located discreetly in the Great Falls Plaza center. The same is tastefully decorated with clean lines and simple modern stylings. The staff is friendly and professional with just enough casual cool. You order as you feel the need. Everything is cooked to order. I really liked the fact that there are four portion sizes- snacks/sides, small, medium and large. This great and probably keeps people from wasting food. You must try the kale chips! They are light and delicious! Most restaurants don't recommend sharing but at Mokomandy's it's encouraged. Great idea for the lite eaters or just to sample more than one dish. This is a must go! Prices are moderate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Strip Mall Food Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently visited Mokomandy with a couple of regulars. Not fusion, but both Cajun and Korean specialties. . There's gotta be something you will like to drink as they offer a wide variety of specialty mixes (many created in-house), beers and wines.
Be prepared to share dishes with tapas styled portions as well as full plated (or bowled) entrees. We were told the menu changes frequently so you can return on another date for something new and exciting.
Orders come randomly, so be prepared to eat it when it's hot. Presentations are very good and the menu items are pretty creative.
Kimchi pancakes - excellent Kale chips - very tasty Pot Roast Sliders - mouth watering
We love spicy food and should have asked if they would up the heat for us (maybe next time).
This place is small so make reservations to assure seating. Eating at the bar is also suitable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.