We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOKOMANDY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 211 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
STATESVILLE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MOKOMANDY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Different and very good. Tasty (spicy but not too hot) flavors in Tapas size dishes. Korean cajun moniker for its food is misleading.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Mix of Canjun and Korean Delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at Mokomandy's in Sterling, VA. This is truly a hidden gem in our area. The restaurant is located discreetly in the Great Falls Plaza center. The same is tastefully decorated with clean lines and simple modern stylings. The staff is friendly and professional with just enough casual cool. You order as you feel the need. Everything is cooked to order. I really liked the fact that there are four portion sizes- snacks/sides, small, medium and large. This great and probably keeps people from wasting food. You must try the kale chips! They are light and delicious! Most restaurants don't recommend sharing but at Mokomandy's it's encouraged. Great idea for the lite eaters or just to sample more than one dish. This is a must go! Prices are moderate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Strip Mall Food Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently visited Mokomandy with a couple of regulars. Not fusion, but both Cajun and Korean specialties. . There's gotta be something you will like to drink as they offer a wide variety of specialty mixes (many created in-house), beers and wines.
Be prepared to share dishes with tapas styled portions as well as full plated (or bowled) entrees. We were told the menu changes frequently so you can return on another date for something new and exciting.
Orders come randomly, so be prepared to eat it when it's hot. Presentations are very good and the menu items are pretty creative.
Kimchi pancakes - excellent Kale chips - very tasty Pot Roast Sliders - mouth watering
We love spicy food and should have asked if they would up the heat for us (maybe next time).
This place is small so make reservations to assure seating. Eating at the bar is also suitable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food and amazing drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have eaten here more than a dozen times and I have had some great meals and some ok meals. On average I would say always a 4 out of 5. I would recommend sitting at the bar and talking with the bartenders. Discuss the drinks and what you would like. The drinks are creative and delicious. The menu is always changing with some dishes being a constant. The plates are small to medium and ordering a variety makes it all the more fun. We will be returning a dozen more times. The brunch is outstanding. the french toast is almost a desert it is so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Mokomandy specializes in Korean and Cajun dishes, but does not bill itself as a fusion restaurant. The menu and the fare are Tapas style, smaller dishes meant to be "pieced together" and shared. Everyone in our party loved the pot roast sliders, absolutely delicious. The Boar Bowl and the Bul Gogi were also quite good. The drink menu is as unique and tasty as the food menu. Try the jalapeno margarita. Huge selection of bottled beer, something for every taste. The restaurant is in a strip mall and there is ample parking, but the venue itself is rather small so I'd recommend reservations for Thursday through Sundays. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.