We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 209 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is awesome. The food is stellar, the staff knowledgeable, and the chefs are very accommodating of food allergies.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of gluten-free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Mokomandy is one of the finest restaurants in the Northern Virginia area that I've experienced - the service was excellent and the meal was one of the best that I've had in a long time. The owner has personal experience with food allergies and is very sensitive to those issues, offering a wide variety of options. I would say about three-fourths of the menu is available as gluten-free. As someone celiac, I find it rare to find a restaurant that is so accommodating to allergies. I had the boudin sausages and scallops. Excellently prepared, and the presentation was very high class.

The prices are also amazingly low, considering the quality and presentation of the meal. This was close to a perfect meal. The only drawback that I can tell is its strip-mall location is not the classiest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Korean/Cajun fusion in an intimate fashion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Mokomandy is located in the spot that was vacated by Hooked at Great Falls Plaza when Hooked moved to their larger location. We were very sad to see Hooked move to their new location but our tears were turned to cheers when Mokomandy opened (note: the new Hooked is not what it used to be so beware but that is another review). Having lived near Annandale for almost 17 years, we really missed not being able to go down the block to a good Korean restaurant. Although Mokomandy is a fusion restaurant, the Korean flavors we have grown to love are very much present. Add to that a Cajun influence and you can get spicy offerings that are sure to please.

Moko dishes are meant to be shared. They have different plate sizes so depending on your group you can try a few or as many as you like. My favorite dish is their house-made noodles. The dish is unique and quite spicy. Moko modifies their menu periodically depending on the popularity of certain dishes (and maybe seasonal) so you can always find something new and exciting to try. Moko has limited seating and can be a bit on the expensive side if you get multiple dishes but it is worth the higher price. For an intimate evening instead of “going out to eat”, make reservations to have a true “dining experience”. Two forks up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Creative menu hampered by small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The Mokomandy fusion of Korean and New Orleans cuisine yields a varied and delicious result. The Korean potroast sliders and Wild Boar Bowl were excellent and something to be experienced. The Fried Oysters were too heavily battered but not a bad choice. The physical space of the restaurant is limiting for a place as popular as this.

Before you leave Mokomandy try the French press coffee and a desert of your choice to finish an excellent evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food, great service !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Believe the hype - this place is great!

Food - delicious and creative. We shared the fried oysters, deviled eggs, seared tuna, pot roast sliders ( sooooo yummy ) , shrimp & grits, scallops and fish special. Believe it or not, all were fantastic. The Korean dishes were definitely not traditional Korean fare ( I am Korean as are my 3 dining companion friends ) but really tasty nonetheless.

Service - excellent. Our table for 4 was not quite ready when we arrived, they comped us each a drink while we waited ( not more than 10 minutes ). The white sangria was delish. Jason was our server and he was outstanding. This was our first visit and he was spot on with all of his recommendations. He was attentive and fun.

Ambience - strip mall location notwithstanding, the inside decor is airy and modern despite the fact that it is a small restaurant.

Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.