We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 202 restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food, great service !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Believe the hype - this place is great!

Food - delicious and creative. We shared the fried oysters, deviled eggs, seared tuna, pot roast sliders ( sooooo yummy ) , shrimp & grits, scallops and fish special. Believe it or not, all were fantastic. The Korean dishes were definitely not traditional Korean fare ( I am Korean as are my 3 dining companion friends ) but really tasty nonetheless.

Service - excellent. Our table for 4 was not quite ready when we arrived, they comped us each a drink while we waited ( not more than 10 minutes ). The white sangria was delish. Jason was our server and he was outstanding. This was our first visit and he was spot on with all of his recommendations. He was attentive and fun.

Ambience - strip mall location notwithstanding, the inside decor is airy and modern despite the fact that it is a small restaurant.

Cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    56
    19
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top-Notch Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I stayed in Sterling, VA for a night from NYC. We visited Mokomandy after reading the wonderful reviews. The restaurant is quite contemporary and fashionable, with comfortable aluminum chairs and lots of mirrors. The menu has a solid mix of Korean and Cajun foods. You can order small plates, medium plates or large plates-- great for mixing and matching.

I've never had such outstanding and caring service before in an upscale restaurant. The waiter made a mistake with my order. When we (casually) mentioned the mistake, he immediately told the head chef/owner, who came out to apologize for the mistake, and immediately rectified the situation.

It was amazing because we very casually mentioned the mistake (I was too busy eating the other delicious entrees to really be bothered), yet the staff has a proactive policy to rectify any problems. The owner made us feel welcome and at home. I think this is the mark of a wonderful restaurant, and highly recommend it to any one in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply a total sensory delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lived in Sterling for 16 years and I have finally found a restaurant that rivals places I have been to around the globe. It is a very small space hidden in a rather non descript strip mall in Sterling, Va. The restaurant is beautifully designed in contemporary fashion with large comfortable chairs. It feels clean and inviting. Our server was very efficient and friendly. This restaurant has only been here for 3 years but the word is absolutely out and you will need a reservation. I love great food but I really appreciate food presentation. The menu is only one page long and I appreciate that they are not trying to create so many dishes that they lose their unique style. The food was light and you could taste the freshness. We even had room for desert which never happens! I will recommend this restaurant highly to anyone who appreciates fine food, beautiful presentation and affordable prices!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the few things we miss about NoVa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I should have written this review before but it's been a busy year. We moved from NoVa to MA last year. Where we are now living has some wonderful restaurants but we really, really, really miss Mokomandy. We probably ate there 5 or 6 times in the year before we moved. Everything is exceptional. It's the kind of place where you really don't want to eat all day so you have room for all the exquisite (but rich) food. I can't say what our favorite was because everything is so good...maybe the fois gras dumplings or the scallop BLT. Do try the snacks and sides just to experience them. We became addicted to the Fried Kale Chips. The service was always wonderful. This is truly a one of a kind gem. Can't wait to go visit family so we can have dinner here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a burger in sight! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Beguiling mix of Cajun and Korean, Mokomandy offers an extremely unusual menu and delivers delightfully different tastes. The menu is divided into three sizes of portions plus a selection of tasters (DO try the cracklins, best ever) and so one is able to pace the meal without filling up on an overly large first course. An unusual and comprehensive beer list is also offered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.