We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to live around the corner from this place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 204 restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
“Lucky to live around the corner from this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Lucky to live right around the corner from this restaurant. This has become our favorite date night place to go. Everything on the menu is delicious and love the fusion of flavors from asian and southern cuisines.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    67
    25
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Creative Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food, great service and truely innovative cocktails. We had many things on the menu. All were exceptional and I particularly liked the deviled eggs and jambalia.

Be sure to get a reservation as we saw multiple walk in parties turned away.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful asian, cajun food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We started with the korean pot roast sliders..yummmmy. Then we moved onto the fried oysters....loved the sauce. Then I had the bulgogi....wonderful. My husband had the wild boar and LOVED it. The drinks were very inventive. The staff was wonderully helpful with the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We did the recommended sharing. We ordered 3 entrees (one of each size) and 3 desserts, because we couldn't choose. We started with the Kobe Carpaccio. It was super fine shaved beef with sprouts, pine nuts and pears. There was some kind of sauce that was absolutely delicious. After, we got the Modern Korean Scallops. This was easily the best dish that we tasted tonight. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The sweet potato! I can even believe a sweet potato could taste like that. The kochu mayonnaise was completely unnecessary and we left it on the plate. The third thing was the Steak frites. The steak was perfectly cooked, but was a little bland. The bok choy was delicious. The carrots were yummy. The sweet potato fries were amazing, especially the ones that were in the red wine reduction.

The desserts, we got the beignets, which taste like the ones I make at home. Yay! We also got the Gateau de Sirop. It was cake with sort of burnt sugar layers. Absolutely delicious. It was topped with apple sauce and ice cream with a touch of pepper on top. Whoever came up with this dish is my new hero. The third dessert was Chocolate, caramel, chicory. I didn't expect to like this, because I don't like coffee, but it was really good. It was the chicory pudding with dollops of cream and homemade dark chocolate salted caramels. Yum. Our bill (with no drinks, because we got water) was $72. It was a bit pricy, but for the freshness and quality, it was worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Let Down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We tried this restraunt for the first time based on location (walking distance) and word-of-mouth recommendations. Perhaps I have traveled to too many countries, but I felt let down by the food and the service. I encouraged our friends to join us and felt embarrased afterwards. The waiter told us about the sharing concept but never provided us appropriate plates, etc. to allow that to happen. Not knowing any better, we each ate the dish intended to be shared. Also the food was served individually and not as a group. The mussels I ordered were actually UNDER cooked and the shells barely opened. The steak servings were OK but nothing I could not get other places. The fried Kale was a real let down, as the serving was so small. The fact that they charge money for it is surprising, since they only fried a few leaves costing a few pennies. We may try again (by ourselves) now that we know to insist that the waiter provide the plates etc. to allow sharing. Other dishes may be better prepared. On the positive side, we did enjoy the wine and beer offerings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.