We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding creative cuisine in a supermarket shopping center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 204 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding creative cuisine in a supermarket shopping center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I don't know if this is true in other parts of the USA, but a surprising number of really outstanding restaurants in northern Virginia are in supermarket shopping centers or strip malls. Mokomandy is the latest such restaurant we found, this time in a Food Lion supermarket shopping center.

We liked everything about Mokomandy, starting with the less than obvious pairing of Cajun with Korean cuisine. We don't know the story behind that, but it certainly works. The food is served tapas style, and we sampled dishes from both cuisines. We liked both, but especially the Korean dishes, in large part because we simply are unfamiliar with that cuisine. The Korean pot roast sliders and Korean scallops were especially good. Also outstanding was a blue crab dip with foccacia.

The drinks are equally creative. We had jalapeno martinis that were amazingly good, followed by equally tasty apple martinis.

The restaurant is small, comfortable and inviting. One disadvantage to this is that you need a reservation on weekend nights to be assured of getting a table. We went at 7pm on a Saturday night and had to sit at the bar -- not that this was much of an imposition.

If you enjoy creative cuisine in a relaxed and classy atmosphere, check out Mokomandy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    28
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do they really need another awesome review??? : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been dying to try this place but they are only open for dinner :(. I had some business folks in town last night, so I finally got to go! Everybody was quite pleased with everything we had. Its totally my kind of dining in that its really easy to share. I think I'd only go here with people who were ok with all the food in the middle of the table. Standouts were the Korean pot roast sliders and the jambalaya.

The prices were incredibly reasonable and we left totally stuffed.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Foodie Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Mokomandy was a treat! It will please the most discerning foodie lovers. The atmosphere is casual but sophisticated. The wine/beer/cocktail list is extensive and contains unusual and unique selections. As far as the food, the menu offers snacks, small, medium and large plates, all reasonably priced. The flavors and presentation were interesting and excellent. There wasn't anything we didn't like. The chef even combined two of our favorite plates at our request. We'll definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Service - Creative Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We found this restuarant to be refreshingly friendly with a really nice atmosphere. The food is creative and different, with options like wild boar, blackened catfish, and cracklins (crispy pork rinds). It's intended to be served family style, so various sizes of plates are offered from small to large. It's fun to share and try many options! We were all quite pleased with everything, although the kids (teenagers) were not quite as adventurous. They were not as impressed as the adults. We will definitely go back, though probably just with adults. It's best to call for reservations as it can really fill up. Also, be sure to try the automatic hand washer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Little gem in the burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely decor. Pleasant waiters. Food reasonably priced but so delicious. Korean lousianna fusion but pleasantly surprised. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.