We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do they really need another awesome review??? : )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mokomandy

Mokomandy
20789 Great Falls Plz, Unit 176, Sterling, VA 20165-2496
571-313-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mokomandy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 190 Restaurants in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Algonkian Parkway
Transit: Great Falls Plaza - Loudoun County Commuter Bus
Description: Modern. Korean. Cajun.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do they really need another awesome review??? : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been dying to try this place but they are only open for dinner :(. I had some business folks in town last night, so I finally got to go! Everybody was quite pleased with everything we had. Its totally my kind of dining in that its really easy to share. I think I'd only go here with people who were ok with all the food in the middle of the table. Standouts were the Korean pot roast sliders and the jambalaya.

The prices were incredibly reasonable and we left totally stuffed.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    38
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Foodie Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Mokomandy was a treat! It will please the most discerning foodie lovers. The atmosphere is casual but sophisticated. The wine/beer/cocktail list is extensive and contains unusual and unique selections. As far as the food, the menu offers snacks, small, medium and large plates, all reasonably priced. The flavors and presentation were interesting and excellent. There wasn't anything we didn't like. The chef even combined two of our favorite plates at our request. We'll definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Service - Creative Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We found this restuarant to be refreshingly friendly with a really nice atmosphere. The food is creative and different, with options like wild boar, blackened catfish, and cracklins (crispy pork rinds). It's intended to be served family style, so various sizes of plates are offered from small to large. It's fun to share and try many options! We were all quite pleased with everything, although the kids (teenagers) were not quite as adventurous. They were not as impressed as the adults. We will definitely go back, though probably just with adults. It's best to call for reservations as it can really fill up. Also, be sure to try the automatic hand washer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Little gem in the burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely decor. Pleasant waiters. Food reasonably priced but so delicious. Korean lousianna fusion but pleasantly surprised. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in an unlikely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Mokomandy is a great restaurant in an unlikely strip plaza. The restaurant offers a unique take on modern korean and cajun food. The restaurant has a variety of dishes that are great for sharing. Start off with the snacks and sides. Pick any 3 based on your preferences and you won't go wrong. Next, pick from the several dishes from the small and medium plates. Our favorites are the Korean Pot Roast Sliders, Bulgogi Beef and Modern Korean Sliders. Alternatively, pick one large plate and one medium plate for sharing. The Steak Frittes is excellent. Leave room for dessert as you will be pleasantly surprised.

One other item to note is the wonderful wine and beer selection. The selections is amazing and the waiters and bar staff are great at making recommendations.

Once you have tried MokoMandy, it will become one of your regular dining places.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokomandy also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Mokomandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokomandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.