We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but poor shuttle service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card Offer
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel but poor shuttle service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel and it's amenities are above average. My problem is with it's shuttle service to and from the airport. There does not seem to be a regular schedule. When you do call for a pick up, you're told that the shuttle is on it's way or has already left, yet it seems to take an excessively long time for the van to show up (sometimes upwards of 30 minutes or more, yet the return trip from the airport to the hotel only takes about 10 to 12 minutes). Hotel management ought to devise a regular published schedule for the van service. Above all, do not permit extraordinary, personal service to and from the local air and space museum, shopping mall, etc. An airport shuttle service should be just that, a ride to and from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you, Jerry P, for your review of your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you found nearly all of our services above average. I was, however, disheartened to read about your less than acceptable shuttle service. Times to/from the airport are very much dependent on the time of travel. Daily, the route is bumper to bumper during long rush hours and then free and clear at other times. Recent weather conditions have been a factor, as well as days immediately following school closures, holidays, etc. Never the less, your comments will be shared with the Ops department to ensure that delays are communicated as we quote times to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    98
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
93
61
49
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do NOT stay at this hotel if you are a traveling hockey team. This hotel is very "hockey team unfriendly" and the worst hotel I've stayed at in 8 years of travel hockey. Staff expected 12-year old hockey players to stay in their rooms the entire time. The food provided for a party was cold. Horrible experience. You've been warned.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you, Andrew7007, for your candid comments. I am sincerely regretful that in spite of our conversations, you remain with an unpleasant memory of your experience with us. As previously discussed, we host teams from a wide array of sports year-round. Teams return year after year due to their positive experience. We cultivate relationships with a vast variety of clientele, all of whose expectation is of a great and restful stay. Though we make every effort to meet and exceed the expectations of every guest, sometimes we fail to do so. I apologize that we did not meet yours. The portion of your meal which was cold was adjusted as per our discussion and your agreement.

Congratulations again for winning the tournament. I wish you many more years of team success.

Anna L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last two months. The staff is amazing with great customer service they always go out of their way to make your stay great. The restaurant has great food and excellent prices. The rooms are comfortable and I always have a great night sleep. I will be back again

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review, Brian M. Your compliments will be shared with all of the team members as you were so gracious in your praise. The teams work hard to take care of every guest's need. I am thrilled that we can take care of yours, trip after trip.

Thank you again. Keep coming back!

Anna L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful. Would be 5 star if they weren't greedy and take in every bus group that offers them the right money. 5th floor had a hockey team. 10 and 11 year olds playing hockey in hall at 1130 pm. They took care of problem if you called every night and complained. But really. Every night?? It's a high end pricey hotel. Worth every dime. But when then you sell to group travel. Customers beware There greedy. If it's a slow time. Be prepared for noise. They will take anyone with a checkbook big enough

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you, oreo451900, for your candid feedback. As a hotel, we do accommodate every kind of traveler there is; however, I apologize that the team interfered with your ability to fully enjoy your stay. There is an expectation of conduct regardless of age and/or group, one that we make every effort to enforce. Sometimes we miss the mark, a fact which we regret. We do sincerely appreciate your remarks.

Return to us for a quiet weekend sometime in the near future!

Anna L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not all hotels are created equal. This hotel is a step above because of it's staff. One sign of a great hotel is not only the quality, but also the consistency of the staff. I've stayed at this hotel many times over the last few years and I am greeted by the same front staff, bartender and executive floor personnel. They do a great job and are a welcomed sight after a long trip.

The location is near plenty of shopping to pick things up that you forgot. Lot's of restaurants, both high-end and fast food. The rooms are the usual high-quality rooms for which Hilton is known. Great place--Great people.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Great places and great people are because of great guests like you, Jim M! Many of our team members are tenured, dedicated staff members who have made the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport their home. I am so very happy that you continue to reconnect with our staff. It's guests like you that make the difference. Thank you for your continued loyalty!

Safe travels,

Anna L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at the Sterling Doubletree are the best in the country. The desk staff bend over backwards to help me with everything I need. I needed to drop off a rent a car and they made sure I got picked up and back to the hotel quickly. The food and bartender are great. The hotel is always very clean.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are here for you, Jeffrey T! Our entire goal is to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of every guest. I am thrilled that we met yours! We hope to see you again in the near future. You can always count on us.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport,

Anna L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to the DoubleTree in February for our new employee orientation meeting based on the outstanding customer service provided last Fall. Once again, the staff and banquet team did not disappoint. Elizabeth Baird was particularly helpful, always smiling and making sure everyone was serviced quickly. No need was unmet and the meeting was a resounding success.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a wonderful review, Elizabeth S! I am proud of our team and the services that they consistently provide. Elizabeth will be particularly tickled to see her name for all to see! It is our please to ensure that you and your meeting needs are fulfilled at all times.

Until we meet again,

Anna L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.