We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently a great experience - all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card Offer
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
West Chester, United States
2 reviews
“Consistently a great experience - all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I love staying at the DoubleTree Sterling-Dulles. Apparently so do others as it books up real fast. The experience is consistently top notch, from when I first arrive, to breakfast and checking out. Also, if I have any particular need, the front desk staff takes care of it. They don't have to have a concierge desk like other hotels do since the front desk is like a concierge desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Good Day Mark S,

Our team has been working to improve the availability of amenities for our travelers and it makes me happy to hear how the team is using this information to create a pleasurable stay for our guests. I appreciate your review and thank you for your continued loyalty. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help you with a future stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    93
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
89
57
47
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west hollywood, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

first three stay, my room was over looking the hotel dumpsters in the rear - noisy and at night too much light reflected into my room, Secondly, the shower water flow is E X T R E M E L Y very very low flowing...not happy

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Good Day Robert G,

Our goal at the DoubleTree by Hilton is to “wow” you with outstanding service and upon leaving the hotel we hope each and every guest can state that they have had the perfect stay. Sadly, we have failed to deliver your expectations. We take our role seriously in providing an environment where you feel comfortable, safe, productive and happy while conducting business away from home or simply a leisure trip in Sterling, Va. I wanted to contact you to apologize for the unfortunate situation you experienced during your stay at our hotel. I have personally gone to your room to ensure everything is functioning to your expectation and I would be happy to further discuss possible resolutions if you have additional time while you are with us.

Kindly,

Yvonne Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

As a program manager at MCD, it is clear to me that we have made an excellent decision to keep our team at The Doubletree in Sterling, VA. I frequent this hotel quite often along with my employees and checking in late in the evening, I am always taken care of by the front desk staff and accommodated in a fashion that makes me feel welcome, appreciated and at home. More often than not I am greeted by a gentleman named Abdi. He has always shown excellent service which is a key reason why my employees are happy to stay here as opposed to our previous contract with Marriott. If you seek professionalism, courtesy, and gratitude, I strong recommend the leisure traveler and business traveler alike to stay at the Doubletree in Sterling.

Thanks to the restaurant waiting staff for always accommodating our morning breakfast requests. My guys deeply appreciate it. Also we truly appreciate the house keeping staff who does an excellent job keeping our rooms clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Fahd Z,

Words can not express the gratitude we have for your review regarding our property. It created the best feeling within at the start of my day. We are proud to host the M.C. Dean group and look forward to continuing the relationship. Please don't hesitate to let me know if there is anything that can be done to assist you in the future. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your thoughts with Abdi. He is a truly awesome member of the team.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I highly recommend this place . very clean and comfortable. The staff are very professional and super welcoming. I had a small issue during my stay, as soon as I reported it the staff were all over the issue until it was resolved.my thanks to all of you who were involved in solving the problem , especially Ahsan. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so very much, Mark H, for your most kind review. The Team will be pleased to read your comments; I know that Ahsan will be extra-proud! We strive for excellence; however, if we are unable to achieve it, service recovery is in our hands. I am glad that we made it right for you.

Thank YOU, Mark H, for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This DoubleTree was a refreshing change from our lackluster (and filthy) stay at their Pittsburgh-Airport location. The location here in Sterling was, for the most part, exactly what a DoubleTree is all about. The only complaint I can think of is that on the evening we arrived, finding a parking space was difficult, and we seemed to have to penetrate deep into the "park and fly" section of the lot. To be fair, showing up at 10pm on a Friday at any hotel usually isn't a parking pleasure.

The lobby is clean and modern. Yes, I got a cookie at check in. I don't really understand the cookie, but I'm not going to tell someone who wants to give me chocolate to not give me chocolate.

Our room was very nice. The furniture was in good shape. The bed was incredibly comfortable with immaculately clean white linens. The bathroom was wonderful. I loved the large, walk-in shower stall. I would love to have that in my home. The toiletries were excellent (the conditioner did more for my hair than my own does).

Pool closes at 10pm so we never got to check it out. Probably for the best because of the hoards of teenagers in the hotel, staying for a softball tournament. But, to the credit of the hotel, you'd never know the place was full of teenagers once out of the public areas.

I think a hidden gem of this hotel is the room service. For room service, I felt the prices and fees were incredibly reasonable for exceptional food.

When visiting the DC area, I usually stay out in the Reston-Herdon-Sterling area. Next time I'm out that way, this hotel will be a natural contender. Plus, unlike the Westins I normally stay at out here, the DoubleTree has complementary wireless internet. That sets it apart from so many of the other upscale chains.

Great work, folks! Looking forward to a future stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Eightwednesday,

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We have received great reviews before, nothing so well written and specific. I truly appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your experience. This review makes me proud of my team and happy to be a member of a great work environment. It is the glue that holds us together.

Thank you for being our spokewoman.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I arrived late and there was no one at the desk ... my first thoughts were "oh boy here we go...". Within 5 min. I was in my room with a smile on my face! Everything was great during my 2 night stay. The best sleep away from home that I have experienced in some time ... I think it was the feathered pillows!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good Evening Lisa M,

Thank you for your review. When I first began reading your review, I was worried! The last thing we would ever want is to not deliver great service to our guest. I can appreciate your thoughts about the bed as this is something most guests enjoy during their visits with us. I apologize for you having to wait while the agent returned to the desk. This is not customary for our location. Again, I am excited that the interaction was above and beyond your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Real, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and we will definitively go back again. This hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was GREAT! friendly and very professional!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear MT Campbell,

Thank you for recognizing our great service provided during your stay. We have a wonderful team ready and willing to help you at any time. I am glad you enjoyed the bed. They are our crown of glory. We thank you for review.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.