We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dulles Golf Package
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Sterling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Was very pleasantly surprised with my stay. Rooms were clean which was important for me. Bed was very comfortable and was able to sleep late without much outside noise. Hotel has nice amenities with free parking, free wi-fi in rooms, fitness center, and pool. Jacuzzi was unfortunately broken with no repair date in sight. Restaurant was good with a happy hour in the afternoon. Staff were great at the front desk. Called because I left my phone charger in the room on checkout and they held on to it at the front desk until I was able to return the next day. Located close to the airport and shopping areas. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Good Evening Jackson R,

It was pleasure having you as our guest while visiting the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling Dulles. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share such valued feedback regarding your stay and I am glad to hear the team was proactive in preparing for your stay. I hope to have you again in the future, so please don't hesitate to let us know if we can do anything to assist you.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    81
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
71
46
41
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked a room for to enjoy a holiday party without the worries of driving afterwards -- we've always like Hilton, and the Double Tree lives up to expectation. They took good care of my allergies by ensuring hypoallergenic bedding in our room (requested ahead of time, and was confirmed by the front desk on check-in). We had an excellent night's sleep, and also enjoyed a delicious breakfast with friends the next morning (I love that they leave a hot carafe of coffee or tea at the table with each order). Double Tree papered us with a warm welcome cookie, spotless facilities, and the hospitality of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Good Evening Twinkle Traveler,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dulles Airport. It was a pleasure being able to have you as our guest. We take pride in what we are doing and it feels good to know when we are doing things the right way for our guests. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to rate our service.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel was bright, clean, and well-maintained--just like the online picture. The staff was friendly and the rooms were immaculate. I was traveling from out of town, so it was helpful to me that the hotel was within a quarter-mile of a shopping center that included Nordstrom Rack, Sams Club and Chick-fila. I was not confined to the hotel and was also able to do shopping and pick up dinner. Another plus was that the hotel offered free parking in a safe, well-lit lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you, Theresa W, for taking the time to provide such great feedback from your stay. We are indeed proud of the services, staff and facilities that we provide. We run a clean ship and enjoy what we do! I am glad that it shines so "brightly". We are close to the mall and other shopping and restaurant options, as well as offer shuttle service within a 5-mile radius. We are glad that we were such a great location for you.

Thanks again for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Gracious and competent people at this hotel will make your stay very pleasant. Clean, conformable rooms and very nice all around amenities. Nice to have a pool and exercise area right there too. Good in the restaurant (go for the New York Steak--ohhh so good!) Nice breakfasts too. I have no complaints at all with this hotel. Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you, Michael B, for a very nice review. We are thrilled that our amenities, service and team met and/or exceeded your expectations. We strive for excellence and we always appreciate one of our customers taking the time to comment on such.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Doubletree while visiting the DC area for my birthday. Upon entering we were greeted warmly and given warm chocolate chip cookies. Yum!! The room was a nice size and clean. The hotel staff was extremely kind and helpful. My only slight complaint is the bed dipped in the middle, but this is probably an exception to otherwise comfortable beds. Other than that enjoyed the stay. It is located in an industrial complex, but a short ride about 10 mins to the Reston Town Center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
The DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookies ARE the best, MLJohnson! We are so very happy that we were able to make your birthday extra-special. I am most pleased to read that the hotel Team was "kind and helpful". I am sorry about your bed as we have been open for only 4 years. We are truly convenient to both Reston and Dulles Town Centers; glad you found us.

Happy belated birthday! Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling-Dulles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great. I travel to Dulles once a month and would say no where else. The beds are the best. Everything is clean and the food and service in the restraunt is very good. Always get a great welcome and the shuttle service is very convient. They will even take you to the mall

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We appreciate your kind words and observations, Josi6350! We are so very glad that you have chosen us as your go-to location for your monthly travels to the Sterling/Dulles area. We are proud of our service, cleanliness and staff and are thrilled that you find them all to be to your liking. We will ALWAYS be happy to take you to the mall!

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport, your home-away-from-home at least once a month!

Sincerely -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. And to me THE most important criteria - the room was very clean, didn't have any smells, no noises from mechanicals, bathroom clean and modern, all things in working order. A completely functioning and pleasant room. Seriously - the bed ws so completely comfortable I didn't want to get up. In fact, I want to buy the same type of mattress it was so incrediblely comfortable. While the room, the bathroom, the bed and condition of the space all were great, the room service food was not what I would have expected. Considering the premium one pays to get food delivered to the room, I expect that the hot dishes will be actually hot or even really warm. My food arrived cool/cold in two separate orders. It's not like it took a long time from order to delivery eitherr-the food came relatively quick after I placed the order. So it's beyond me why it was cold and clearly had been sitting for while. Even with that I would definitely recommend this hotel - very near Dulles - easy in and out between the hotel and airport and local businesses.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
I have reviewed your comments, Daphne R, and though I was so happy to read your positive remarks, I was disappointed that we failed you in terms of the Room Service experience. Regardless of cost, we need to be able to get a great quality of food and beverage delivered to you each and every time. My apologies that this was not the case. I have reviewed with the F&B Team your comments, a necessary step in improving the quality. The beds are divine, aren't they?

Thank you for your thorough review and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport.

Safe travels -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.