We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, customer service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dulles Golf Package
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Comfort, customer service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have traveled the world for business and pleasure and was fortunate to find this hotel during brief and long (months) stays. From the management level (Anna Lyons, General Manager) to front desk (Addi Hassan, Ahsan Syed, Mahlet Hailemichael), to bar tenders (Rohit Shetty, Bill Galanis) to Concierge Lounge (Jennifer Cruz, Lilian Canelas) you will not find a more conscientious, attentive staff that greets you by name and is willing to meet your needs with a smile. The rooms are well kept and comfortable and the food is delicious. The menus have specials each day including my favorite in the evening, a soup of the day. Each day begins with a freshly cooked breakfast including fresh fruit for healthy eaters. A generous, daily, two hour Happy Hour includes a half off appetizer day. The Concierge Lounge for Hilton frequent stayers includes tasty appetizers, cheese and vegetable plates and premium beers and wine. The workout facility and pool is more than adequate to meet the normal daily workout for business travelers.

I cannot recommend this hotel too highly, especially since the hotel is in Loudon County versus Fairfax County which lowers the cost for travelers required to use GSA rates. This makes this hotel an extremely good value for business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    87
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
81
53
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It only takes one non smiling person to take it from excellent to very good. Most everyone was absolutely wonderful. We did have a maid who came to the door before noon and I said we would be leaving soon and we never had our room cleaned but at 11:30 at night when we returned for the day it was too late to ask for it to be done. Everything else was great besides the one non friendly front desk person and the 1 day of non cleaning. We were there for 3 nights

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Conveniently located with clean, comfortable rooms. Nice selection at breakfast buffet, lunch/dinner selection wide and what was sampled was quite nice. Banquet facilities were quite nice and the food was extremely good, both appetizers during cocktail hour and reception food. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

One of the better DoubleTree's I've stayed in. About 15-20 minutes from the airport so close enough to be convenient but not too close that it feels "airport-y" if you know what I mean. It's right next to Walmart/Sam's Club and some restaurants so that's nice if you need something.

Got upgraded to a larger King room which was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast on the executive lounge was very nice - well attended to by the friendly workers there.

Wifi was a bit slow.

Didn't use the shuttle, but I always saw the shuttle in the front waiting to take guests to the airport so I'm guessing it's pretty reliable and prompt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Restaurant Service was terrible ! I was treated like I were not their customers. I need to take care of myself for tea, hot water, etc. they may treat well other customers, but not me. I felt like I had been discriminated by staffs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello NumNopporn,

Thank you for letting us know about this concern during your stay. I wanted to inform you that the team member who was responsible for such conduct is no longer a member of our team. I know this does not make up for what happened to you, but I hope it does provide some comfort. We pride ourselves on taking action and delivering service and when we fall short, we implement measures to improve. Please let me know if I may be of service in this regard.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

we left early due to noise besides that it was a nice hotel. Now I'm going to repast this to meet the 200 word minimum to post. we left early due to noise besides that it was a nice hotel. Now I'm going to repast this to meet the 200 word minimum to post. we left early due to noise besides that it was a nice hotel. Now I'm going to repast this to meet the 200 word minimum to post.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here Dec. 28-Dec. 31. This is our "go to" place when in the Ashburn, Sterling, Dulles Airport Area outside Washington, D.C. Clean, quiet and reliable for service. The best kept secret is the Executive Floor (6th floor) which is quieter than the other floors. For the extra price of the floor, there is a 6th floor business area (computer/printer), social area with good seating, and breakfast on weekdays included with room price of 6th floor rooms. We have tried EVERY hotel in the area, and prefer this one for our frequent visits to the area. Do be aware that there is no guest laundry (valet service only), but other than that we relax here. 6th floor breakfast is NOT offered on weekends, nor during the period between Christmas-New Year's; however there is a full-service restaurant/bar on the first floor off the lobby. When booking your room you may want to confirm whether or not breakfast is included in your package.
The area offers excellent shopping (Dulles Mall, other retails companies, Wegman's) and is very conveniently located just off Route 28/Route 7 and about 15 mins. from Dulles Airport.

Room Tip: Sixth floor - costs more but well worth it for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.