We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about using the shuttle from the airport” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dulles Golf Package
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Forget about using the shuttle from the airport”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had a terrible experience today trying to get to hotel via their shuttle from Dulles. My cell phone was unavailable but from website understood that their shuttle passed every 30 minutes so I went outside and waited. I waited 30 minutes and saw shuttles from every hotel in the area pass by. Finally, went inside and called them using skype from my Ipad and was told that they would be there in 25 minutes (my wife stayed outside on the off chance that the shuttle would come by, it did not). Waited another 25 minutes (the hotel is only a 10 minute drive away from terminal) and then went back inside terminal to call them. I was then told it would be there in 10 minutes. Finally, 15 minutes after second call, the shuttle arrived. I ended up waiting 70 minutes in the cold for the shuttle ride which lasted 10 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    83
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
73
49
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We checked into the Double Tree after a sub-standard night at a nearby competitor. Have to say we had a great 3 night stay during the very busy Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel is super clean and the staff is extremely accommodating. Rooms are modern, cozy and quiet. As trivial as it sounds, I am compelled to share that the biggest disappointment was the shower heads. Clearly the low flow shower heads are an effort to be environmentally friendly (which I really can appreciate). However, these shower heads were so bad that you could not get warm and you could not get the soap off. The fine streams of water felt like you were getting needled, far from refreshing. The net effect was that you stayed in the shower longer thereby wasting more water then one would with a normal shower head. I think it would be more effective to have improved shower heads and a simple plaque in the shower reminding guests to be economical with the water consumption. Small complaint in the scheme of things but it did stand out as a negative. Otherwise a great place to stay and we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff is the best i have seen for this class of a hotel. The staff really go out of their way to make sure your stay is excellent. I sometimes drive over fifty miles from this hotel to where i need to do business since i like the staff so much. I could stay at a more convenient hotel ,a closer hotel,a cheaper hotel but not a more friendly hotel to where i need to do my business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on standby. The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes from Dulles Airport. A shuttle service runs every half hour which makes travelling a breeze. The hotel is clean, the rooms comfortable and I also received a great rate for booking through the airport. A great place to stay while in transit. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here on an overnight layover...the staff was warm, welcoming, and very helpful. The room was incredibly comfortable, up-to-date, and inexpensive. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel..also, who could say no to a freshly baked cookie at check in?

(Note) If recommended to the hotel by Dulles Airport Staff, be sure to ask about discounts that the hotel is currently offering travelers. I was given a discount pass by an airport help desk employee. This discount offered me an excellent room for a price that fit my budget as a student. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay, the service, the freshly baked cookies, and the free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I choose this hotel, instead of one downtown Washinton, because I had to catch a flight at Dulles at 08h00 AM. The shuttle bus was very efficient. The salient point: the bed is very comfortable. Minor problem with the alarm clock; also the dinner room temperature was too cold and the waitress who agree with me couldn't do anything about it. Overall: very good hotel near Dulles airport

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great place, restaurant food was excellent, coffee way too strong(starbucks) rooms very clean. Beds very comfortable. showers could be a little warmer. location is very close to multiple shopping areas and parks. highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.