We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Celebration!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Québec, Canada
1 review
“Very comfortable bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I choose this hotel, instead of one downtown Washinton, because I had to catch a flight at Dulles at 08h00 AM. The shuttle bus was very efficient. The salient point: the bed is very comfortable. Minor problem with the alarm clock; also the dinner room temperature was too cold and the waitress who agree with me couldn't do anything about it. Overall: very good hotel near Dulles airport

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles-Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Syracuse
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great place, restaurant food was excellent, coffee way too strong(starbucks) rooms very clean. Beds very comfortable. showers could be a little warmer. location is very close to multiple shopping areas and parks. highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I felt like I was at home. Just that the room was very clean and I felt very secure. I had a very important day the next day and I forgot my razor at home. The person whom checked me in, personally delivered me a razor to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ukguyz
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We checked in to this hotel during a trip to the US. The hotel is only 2 or 3 years old and looks great. On checking in we went to our room. Now maybe I am just being unreasonable but why in a hotel this size do they put the ice machine right at the end of the corridor. The room was fine but I will say that for some reason the have very low ceilings in fact it felt a little to low and I am not that tall. The bed was very comfortable but was a little soft for my taste. The bathroom was very nice but only had a shower (that suited us fine) but there was a large amount of mould round the base of the shower. The shower also had really poor water pressure. The shower door also opened the wrong way to my way of thinking. The only outlet in the bathroom was mounted right at the mirror (which was lighted so stood out from the wall by a few inches) due to this silly placement it meant that we could not use this outlet as the mirror blocked access to it. We did not eat at the hotel. It was very quiet in the room so have no complaints in this area. The one other complaint that we have about the hotel is the elevators. The stink of cooking food (reminded me of an old cruise ship) The smell was very strong every time we used the elevator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice clean and comfortable hotel north of the Washington Dullas airport. It is in the middle of an industrial park and the road it is on, Atlantic, runs parallel with the freeway but it is not noisy at night. My rate included wifi and breakfast. Breakfast had some hot and cold items, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, etc. muffins and fresh fruit were very good. If you turn left out of the hotel parking lot and drive about half a mile there is a Chic Filet and a Walmart. Drive a half mile more and you arrive at Dullas Town Center which is a large shopping mall with several restaurants outside the mall. Be sure to bring exact change for tolls at night from the airport as the toll booths are not staffed late at night. Hotel staff was very warm and welcoming, rooms were clean and very comfortable. It was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msuivyci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked a night at this Doubletree to break up a trip from Madrid to San Diego. After a long day of waiting and flying (Madrid-London-Dulles) I called for the shuttle and as he was already at the airport he came around and picked me up. I was greeted with smiles and a warm cookie and even though I ordered room service 10 minutes before the kitchen closed, food was delivered with a smile. (And it was hot and tasty, to boot.) Then there was the bed... exhaustion plus one of those heavenly beds = a match made in heaven. Good wifi in the rooms, free coffee in the morning (at least I think it was free, unless I stole it LOL) and shuttle the airport, plus the welcoming staff and comfy room make this someplace I'll return to anytime I have a stopover near Dulles airport. Keep up the great work you fine people!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rialtogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you, rialtogrl, for your wonderful review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Sterling - Dulles Airport. We are very proud of our services and staff and are so very happy that we could make a relaxing difference in your tiring travel itinerary. Please keep us in mind in the future, perhaps for your return to Madrid!

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree Sterling.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel looks new on the outside.

On the inside, it's clean, bright and inviting. I liked the patio in back with the gas oven set in the back wall for heat and effect. Very nice.

The room was a decent size, and I DID appreciate the bathroom stand alone shower vs. a tub shower (hate those)

Now about that bed. I rarely find a hotel bed this comfortable. Forget "Heavenly Beds". This bed WAS awesome, just the right amount of give and firmness. It and it's pillows were exactly what I needed after a super long flying day.

One last note..the restaurant. I enjoyed the breakfast BUT when you have a staff that doesn't ask if you want another cup of coffee and they are super busy cleaning the 1 other table that was dirty, that sorta irked me to no end. I had to ask the lady server for a cup, and do you know when you get that smile of annoyed tolerance along with the "Certainly, sir I will be right back with it"? If anything needed improvement at the property, it's in the restaurant and their need to serve with sincerity.

The front desk staff were completely respectful, in comparison, and you felt politeness and respect just pour out of them. They deserve to be commended for their way of making guests feel welcome, right in thru the door!

Room Tip: They are all sooo nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitedNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Dulles Airport at 28 Centre
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing