We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card Offer
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Run, do not walk, to stay here if given the opportunity and the location suites your needs. This establishment embodies the hospitality you expect from the Hilton chain. Rooms are imaculate, and the beds are so comfortable you will want it to be the one you come home to every day. The staff couldn't be more professional and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    100
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
94
62
49
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during Labor Day weekend while I was in town for a wedding. The room was typical doubletree room, clean and comfortable bed. The wedding reception was also in the hotel and it was nice. The food was great for wedding food. The staff served everyone quickly. The bar in the hotel was great. The hotel is very convenient to the airport. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The quick low-down. I stayed here for 2 nights.
Check-in / staff: very nice, no complaints.
Room / halls: everything feels a bit outdated. Water pressure was relatively low. Room was clean but felt like it needed a "refresh".
Restaurant: I only got the (included) breakfast buffet, which was a step above a continental breakfast. Not particularly great but let's be realistic here, it's a buffet breakfast in an airport hotel.
Location: Well, it's an airport hotel, but it's really in the middle of nothing. Definitely don't expect to be going _anywhere_ without a car. As with every other airport hotel at this level, there's a shuttle to/from the airport and they will drive you to/from any place within 5 miles, but don't count on speedy shuttle service (to be fair there's only 2 of them!)
I was on business and generally wiped out so I didn't visit the bar but it looked decent.
Given the huge number of options available I wouldn't choose this one again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed on business and found the hotel to be in a great location with convenient access to airport, dining, shopping, etc. Great staff throughout the hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished but the beds are the best - super comfortable with lots of good pillows and good comforter. I'm not a fan of the water saver shower head, but understand the intent. I have to return to the area in October and will stay here again. Hilton members have access to a nice breakfast room on the 6th floor. The Starbucks coffee was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was nice. I didnt have time to enjoy the bar or indoor pool, but they looked apealing. I would stay again if in the area. The room was nice and quiet. The mall down the street was a nice suprise. Very close to airport. Short drive to DC area if you use toll roads. I choose to take avoid the tolls and drive the extra miles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The accomodation was adequate, but not great, as would be expected from a Hilton standard. My biggest problem was with the service and the individual that was in chrage the night I stayed with my two children. The front desk clerk was "very" unfriendly and didn't seem to care what my family and I would feel like. She refused to show us rooms, stating that "she was the only one available and cannot show room without accompanying. There was no manager available and she was in charge. It is too late anyway you cannot cancel the reservation." Being a Hilton Honor member and having made reservation with credit card I don't think I should be told that I can't see rooms to have a choice. Poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

10min by shuttle from Dulles, 45min by taxi from downtown DC (85USD on avg). Internet wi-fi connection works well from ground floor, it's much slower (well, too slow) from the rooms. Rooms have everything you need and front desk staff is helpful. Breakfast is great but I would recommend to have lunch/dinner outside since the menu is limited to sandwiches and few salads. Swimming pool is really small (I wouldn't call it "swimming"...). In summary, good location for business except for the speed of the network from the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.