We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Room stinky and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Executive Room stinky and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Don't expect too much even if you get the executive suite. I stayed in room 600 and upon arrival, found some hair on the sink and bathroom floor. Toilet was not even flushed. Mold around the shower room floor particularly the door area and there were also hairs in the cover drain. Internet is hit or miss because it oftentimes get disconnected. There was only one person in the front desk when our shuttle arrived so we have no choice but to wait. Clerk seems brand new since she told me that their computer system wouldn't take my address and yet I've stayed at numerous Double Tree hotels in the past. Didn't even hand me a cookie upon my group's arrival. The only good thing about this hotel is the bed and the location. Walmart is about 5 minutes walk as well as some decent restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    111
    47
    17
    4
See reviews for
109
78
53
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Disputanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I like your cookies once again! The staff members were very nice and the hotel was very clean. I would most definitely stay here again. I would also recommend this hotel for others to stay. Thank you DoubleTree!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Clean, comfortable, safe hotel in a nice area convenient to shopping and plenty of restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is a step above what you'll usually find included in the room rate for many hotels. Only negative I have is the fact that the Internet service seems fairly slow. At the time of this review it was measuring 2mb/sec but it has been much slower at times this week. In a time when residential service is 25 times that rate or more from some providers I wish Hilton would give their network service a serious review. A warm rather than hot shower and a "minifridge" that doesn't really cool are the only other nuisances and are minor concerns at best. All in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I travel to the area on business quite often. We get a great corporate rate but that's not a consideration. I would stay here if I was traveling to the area on my own. The rooms are always clean. The bath towels are large and absorbent. I especially like the bathrobe. The staff is efficient and friendly without being in-your-face chummy and they seem to always ready to please the guests

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Overall i was happy with my stay. The service at breakfast was slow, but i was not bothered too much by it. If in town for business again, i will stay here. Overall i was happy with my stay. The service at breakfast was slow, but i was not bothered too much by it. If in town for business again, i will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms are expensive, but nice. Very limited in places that allow quick food pick up. Only a MacDonalds within a 5 mile radius and 2 sit down restaurants. Returned from Sportsplex for 10 minutes to eat before having to go back to event taking place. Restaurant/bar was closed (was 10:30pm). Staff member would not let kids eat in restaurant area (which was empty) before returning to Sportsplex. Was rude and inappropriate. We only had 10min to eat before returning to Sportsplex and even offered to clean up before we left. Was told if the food was not from the hotel, we could not eat it there. Told the kids they could not open the MacDonald's bag. We felt very uncomfortable and disrespected. Will not return again. After talking to manager 3 days later by phone (who was very concerned and professional) was told there are strict laws about food in the dining room. Seems that could have been communicated to us in a more appropriate manner, avoiding the entire incident altogether.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent two nights at the hotel for a family wedding. Checking was early and although we had to wait a few minutes the staff was accommodating and very polite. Lunch while waiting was very good and even though there was a mistake made they noticed before I did and made it good without any extra charge. The event manager was very helpful as we helped with making sure the room for the rehearsal dinner was day. The room was large for a standard room, bathroom very nice and clean, counter space, fridge with nice counter top for lots of room. The beds were fantastically wonderful, comfortable chair, roomy desk, wifi connection good, windows almost looked like home windows. Outside courtyard was lovely. The only down side was that the pool area was very small. The pool itself was nice but the was limited seating and there were lots of kids there the who,e weekend for a softball tournament and the young ones insisted on running, being loud and jumping into the water while parents did little to contain their noise out of respect for others. Not a big deal. At the dinner I made a request for a drink that was not in the room and the waitress went and got it for me. Overall,very nice stay, wonderful and restful for the occasion. Breakfast buffet was average but the wait staff very polite and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.