We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff interaction with customers.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Celebration!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff interaction with customers.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rooms are expensive, but nice. Very limited in places that allow quick food pick up. Only a MacDonalds within a 5 mile radius and 2 sit down restaurants. Returned from Sportsplex for 10 minutes to eat before having to go back to event taking place. Restaurant/bar was closed (was 10:30pm). Staff member would not let kids eat in restaurant area (which was empty) before returning to Sportsplex. Was rude and inappropriate. We only had 10min to eat before returning to Sportsplex and even offered to clean up before we left. Was told if the food was not from the hotel, we could not eat it there. Told the kids they could not open the MacDonald's bag. We felt very uncomfortable and disrespected. Will not return again. After talking to manager 3 days later by phone (who was very concerned and professional) was told there are strict laws about food in the dining room. Seems that could have been communicated to us in a more appropriate manner, avoiding the entire incident altogether.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Inwood, West Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent two nights at the hotel for a family wedding. Checking was early and although we had to wait a few minutes the staff was accommodating and very polite. Lunch while waiting was very good and even though there was a mistake made they noticed before I did and made it good without any extra charge. The event manager was very helpful as we helped with making sure the room for the rehearsal dinner was day. The room was large for a standard room, bathroom very nice and clean, counter space, fridge with nice counter top for lots of room. The beds were fantastically wonderful, comfortable chair, roomy desk, wifi connection good, windows almost looked like home windows. Outside courtyard was lovely. The only down side was that the pool area was very small. The pool itself was nice but the was limited seating and there were lots of kids there the who,e weekend for a softball tournament and the young ones insisted on running, being loud and jumping into the water while parents did little to contain their noise out of respect for others. Not a big deal. At the dinner I made a request for a drink that was not in the room and the waitress went and got it for me. Overall,very nice stay, wonderful and restful for the occasion. Breakfast buffet was average but the wait staff very polite and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed 4 nights while work was being performed on my home. I very much enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly and professional, the room was clean and fresh, the bed was very comfortable, and room service was prompt. I have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked the Park and Fly package at this hotel and was glad I did! Upon check-in I was notified that I was the "Guest of the Day." I received a complimentary fruit and cheese plate in my room as my "prize." We were celebrating our anniversary (which I did not inform the receptionist) so it was good surprise. The rooms were modern, roomy, and quite. The beds were some of the best that I have slept on, very soft and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best breakfast buffets I have eaten at. However, I was unaware of the price until I received the bill for $13 a person, which I thought was a little high. The park and fly worked out great with being able to park in the hotels parking lot and take the shuttle into Dulles which was about 10-15 min away. There was some problems with the shuttle van and the hotel manager came out to address us and the problem. The Dulles shopping mall is also only about 5 minutes away. The staff and hotel are wonderful and would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area for the airport or anything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMORE_CPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wanted something close to Dulles Airport for an early flight, and this hotel proved to be perfect. Staff was friendly, room was very clean and comfortable, and it was a very good value. The shuttle not only got us to the airport quickly for our flight, but also picked us up at our car rental place the afternoon before. It was a plus having a restaurant/bar on site; although, the shuttle also provides transport within 5 miles of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel is in a commercial area. Ideally located for access to Dulles airport. Hotel is fairly new so everything was in perfect condition. Carpet was clean, internet connection was fast. Very good value. When I'm in this area again I plan to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando18325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

With a flight cancellation, we had to stay overnight and were directed by the personnel at the courtesy desk at IAD to the Doubletree Hotel. Wonderful service and staff, with a great room. Would elect to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CarolMCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Dulles Airport at 28 Centre
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing