We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep - very comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Fly
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep - very comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Hotel seems to be in the middle of a business park/location ideal if doing business in this area, quite a distance from The city centre, however it is a very comfortable property (especially after a long flight). The swimming pool small but nice and refreshing was a surprise as was the free Internet access and the very good room service. Good shuttle service to and from the airport. Excellent selection of hot and cold food on the breakfast buffet.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    116
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
114
82
54
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Dining was my favorite. I looked forward to breakfast and dinner there every day that I stayed. Complimentary airport shuttle was also nice, timely and helpful for my stay. The bed was very comfortable, it was quiet and clean. There were spots in the room such as scuff marks and mistakes that looked like was done during remodeling but no dirt, hair or trash. The check in and out process went well, the great cookies at check in we're an added bonus.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our party booked three rooms on executive floor for one night. The front desk staff were attentive and accommodating on check-in. Our rear room was quiet, clean and bright. AC worked well and wasn't noisy. The king bed was extremely comfortable and included a nice selection of pillows. Note that the executive lounge on Fl 6 does not provide breakfast or evening hors d'oeuvres from Fri pm-Sun am. We got a good deal booking on the DT website that included buffet breakfast for two for less than the $13 per person charge we'd otherwise have paid. We also had drinks on the outside patio and dinner inside the restaurant. Service was a bit slow but all our meals were tasty. The buffet breakfast included lots of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurts, eggs, sausage and french toast. Our friends got a late 2 PM checkout, which was great since their departing flight from Dulles wasn't until 6 PM. Overall, a very good experience and value, just as we hoped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Doubletree is in an ideal location in southeast Loudoun County, very near to Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD). The sixth floor is reserved for HH Diamond members. It has a nice business/breakfast/cocktail area right off the elevator so the folks on the sixth floor don't have to travel downstairs for much of anything once they check in. The breakfast is complimentary on this floor.

The rooms are standard DT: nicely furnished, decent beds, minifridge, etc. The restaurant downstairs is unusual in that the food is very good for a non-resort hotel. I've eaten several dinners there over the past twelve months and it has never disappointed. The staff go out of their way to accommodate your needs and are always helpful. The only negative is that there is much parking behind the hotel. Unfortunately, there is no entrance on the back so you have to lug your stuff all the way around to the front.

The location is close to Herndon, which has a full complement of independent restaurants, not the usual chains that are located right around the hotel.

An overall very nice DT that I will continue to frequent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room I was in had no water pressure at all couldn't get the shampoo out of my hair so we reported it. They tried to fix it and the shower head exploded the room was full of steam to the point it set the fire alarm off. We had to go in and get our stuff out with no help from the staff. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful in getting us another room. If we had not gone back to our room and saw what was going on I think our ipads would have been ruined. They gave us no discount for the inconvenience, it was a very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Our sincere apologies, Rita N, for the issues you encountered during your recent stay with us. We obviously did not handle the maintenance issue properly and regret the inconvenience caused to you. I am thankful that the Front Office staff was helpful, though I am surprised that the appropriate recovery actions were not taken. Service recovery and additional training is in order. My sincere apologies once again.

Yours in Hospitality.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

No Complimentary meals when other Hilton hotels provide these amenities. The Internet cable was unplugged from wall and there was a strange hair on my coffee cup when filling it up with water to make coffee. Room was very quiet, and bed was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a newer hotel located near dulles airport. My king room was large and spacious. It was updated, modern and clearn. the bed was comfortable and had had real pillow - not the hated "mini-pillows." Nice flat screen tv along with free internet. I liked this hotel so much that I ate dinner there eventhough I seldom eat in the hotels I stay in. I had a grilled salmon salad that was as good as any upscale resturant. However, there are numerous resaurants within 5 minut drive. And yes, they have a shuttle which includesthe airport. Great hotel. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.