We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, relaxation, and the best place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dulles Golf Package
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Potosi, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Comfort, relaxation, and the best place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel has been my favorite place to stay for the following reasons: comfortable beds and linens, clean rooms, great food at the hotel, indoor swimming, a fitness room. The rooms include a small fridge and coffee pot. I was greeted with a delicious cookie at check in. The staff was always pleasant and quick to reactivate my card when I had got it next to a magnet unknowingly. The bartender Bill is the best. How wonderful he and the staff in the kitchen work to make everything so smooth and enjoyable. I will definately be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff, I will share your comments with each one mentioned. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    80
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
46
41
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

most comfortable beds! quiet & peaceful rooms. delicious cookies! Shuttle to shopping and a variety of restuarants local and chain. (Try the Burmese place if you like thai or indian).
The staff were very friendly and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay great. The food at the bistro downstairs of the hotel was good too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. I was glad to see you had a restful night sleep and appreciate how comfortable our beds really are, many guests feel the same way. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the entire staff to read. We hope that when travel brings you back to our area you will allow us to be at your service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stay here for business and personal. Friendly staff, great rooms and reasonable price. At times I have an issue when calling in and the person on the phone cannot quite 'get it', but overall a good experience every time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will work harder to "get it" on calls and to regain your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Bartender Bill (Basilis) is a pleasure! Front desk staff are friendly and efficient! I was guest of the day on my last visit and was honored with a cheese/crackers/fruit plate in my room. Shuttle to/from Dulles runs on the half hour which is so convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your omments regarding your most recent stay with us. I will pass along your comments to Bill, he is great to work with as well and thoroughly enjoys his job. We look forward to your next visit. Travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staying here while writing this review and this has got to be one of the nicest Doubletree properties at which I have stayed. The hotel is about 3 years old according to the front desk staff, but it looks and feels brand new. I checked in late for a one night stay, and the front desk person welcomed me and offered a later check out, which I gladly accepted. Being a gold member of the Hilton Honors program, my room is on the top floor and it is extremely quiet. The room itself is well appointed with a very comfortable bed, spacious area for relaxing, and a modern bathroom - all of which is extremely clean. The lobby, restaurant, pool, and fitness center are also very nice. On top of the amenities, the staff here is professional and accommodating which is something that is truly valuable. The property is located just minutes from the Dulles airport, shopping, and restaurants which the Doubletree offers a door to door shuttle to and from. I give very few "excellent" reviews because I think there is always room to improve. In my opinion, this Doubletree property has it figured out and is worthy of the high review provided.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for the compliments regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you were pleased. The entire team here appreciates all comments guests make and we use this feedback as a guage for our delivery of service. We look forward to being at your service again when travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family stayed at the Doubletree in Sterling because I had won a free 2 night stay through a work raffle. We decided to stay over the weekend because I had to be in the area for school anyway so it became a family mini vacation even though we live only a few miles away. We spent a lot of time in the pool with my 2 year old son and most times we had the pool area to ourselves, which was nice. Personally, I was a little let down though when I found that the hot tub was not actually hot & I did notify the front desk about that on our departure. Otherwise the Doubletree was a nice facility and we would stay there again if we needed another mini vacation! In fact, I am still having cravings for those warm cookies!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the amenities the property has to offer, I apologize for the cool to warm whirlpool spa. The hot tub spa heater has been fixed and is now perfectly heated and we are ready for the next mini vacation. Rest assured the cookies will always be warm and delicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Interacted with lots of different front desk staff as I arrived late night and stayed over the weekend into the week -- and found all the front desk staff to be helpful and attentive. For example, alerting the driver that I was the sole passenger to the airport, helping with a refund when the soda machine ate my money. (Note: the hotel sells bottled water cheaper than the vending machine.) It is a bit off out of the way but feeling like an appreciated guest made up for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the favorable review of your most recent stay at the Doubletree Dulles Airport. I will share your comments with the Front Desk staff and drivers. I hope that when travel brings you back to our area you will again allow us to be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.