We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Location But GreatHotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dulles Golf Package
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Strange Location But GreatHotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Booked this Asa Dulles area hotel but, late at night after driving for a half hour in our rental, we found it in a light industrial area. But it was next to Dulles Town Centre so my wife was delighted!

We were comped to the Concierge floor and had a great room. As a Gold member we got a hot breakfast in the Concierge lounge which was way superior to Hampton Inns.

We will not hesitate to return!

Room Tip: If you're in the Dulles area make this hotel your first choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for the quick review of your most recent stay with us. And Thank You for your Gold status with Hilton Honors as well. I am glad you enjoyed the club level breakfast and our location close to the Dulles Town Center mall. We look forward to being at your service when travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    84
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
76
53
44
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hinesville, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean room very helpful staff vans and driver at your disposal.
The restaurant was clean and the food average.
The bed was most comfortable.
There was an indoor pool
The fitness room was great.
We were fifteen minutes from the Airport

Room Tip: The third floor gave us a good view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us at the Doubletree. We appreciate the feedback regarding the bed, pool and fitness center. I will share your comment of the average food with our chef to try to do things a bit better. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The air conditioning woke me up when ever the temprature changed with a loud noise and did not know what to do. I did not feel the noise in the day time but it effected my sleep in the night time.
The cleanlyness of the room was good and the staf were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear learner09,
Thank you for the quick review of your most recent stay with us. I am sorry the air conditioner was making noises that disturbed your rest but was glad to see you were pleased overall with the accommodations. I have shared your comments with our maintenance team and they will resolve any noise issues with the system as they are always on the lookout for ways to improve our hotel and make guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because of a meeting nearby. It was clean and quiet. The bed and pillows were comfortable. We had access to the Executive Lounge, but we weren't very impressed with it. Overall, it was a great place for our one night stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Amie H. Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry the Club Lounge did not meet with your approval. We will try harder to impress next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this Doubletree during a recent Kids hockey tournament. The property is very new and the rooms, though average in size, are very nice. There seem to be many, many options within a 5-10 mile radius of this property and we might stay here again depending on the price.

The one downside was that there were no restaurants or anything else that is walkable. On the last tournament we stayed in nearby Brambleton and really enjoyed the walkable restaurants and shopping next to that hotel. A large shopping mall area and restaurants are a nearby 5 minute drive from this property so that may offset this concern for some.

The breakfast buffett was high quality, particularly with the fresh fruit options, but one constructive criticism is that the breakfast buffett should have a little more variety for the price.The biggest surprise came with the very high quality of the room service lunch we ordered one day. It came fast and was really high quality.

Service on all fronts including check-in, and at breakfast was pleasant and helpful. Overall, modern, clean, safe, and new...plus as with all Doubletree's...you cannot beat the complimentary cookies!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for selecting our hotel during yor Hockey Tournament. I hope your team won. If the tournament is held in our area again next year we hope you select us for your accommodation needs. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this property about a dozen times over the past 3 months while in town on business. The staff is always friendly, every room I've had has been spotless and the 6th concierge lounge is above average. Their rates seem to fluctuate quite a bit, but that seems pretty standard for hotels in the area. There is a mall with several large chain restaurants less than a mile away, and just about any other kind of shopping or restaurant you could ask for within a couple minutes drive. My only complaint as a business traveler is their wireless Internet service is down quite often, I've had to call the 24-hour helpline on several occasions but they are always able to resolve "their equipment issues" in pretty short order. I will continue to make this property my home away from home in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We appreciate your business and thank you for returning to our property. We'll keep the cookies warm until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great checkin......6th floor concierge level was convenient with good vittles.

Went way of their way to check me in early and very generous check-out.

Helps if you're a gold/diamond member.

Beds were plush and a little high up.

Rooms were a bit compact.....newer feel...good amenities...great shower.

Lunch was very good service.

My new hotel of choice near Dulles.

Near 28 and 7.......very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks for the review of your most recent stay with us. I am always pleased to read that we have satisfied the needs of our guests. We appreciate your comments and will do our best to continue to deliver the services you deserve and expect. and Thank You for being a loyal Hilton Honors member. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.