We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Options but this one is nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Fly
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of Options but this one is nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at this Doubletree during a recent Kids hockey tournament. The property is very new and the rooms, though average in size, are very nice. There seem to be many, many options within a 5-10 mile radius of this property and we might stay here again depending on the price.

The one downside was that there were no restaurants or anything else that is walkable. On the last tournament we stayed in nearby Brambleton and really enjoyed the walkable restaurants and shopping next to that hotel. A large shopping mall area and restaurants are a nearby 5 minute drive from this property so that may offset this concern for some.

The breakfast buffett was high quality, particularly with the fresh fruit options, but one constructive criticism is that the breakfast buffett should have a little more variety for the price.The biggest surprise came with the very high quality of the room service lunch we ordered one day. It came fast and was really high quality.

Service on all fronts including check-in, and at breakfast was pleasant and helpful. Overall, modern, clean, safe, and new...plus as with all Doubletree's...you cannot beat the complimentary cookies!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for selecting our hotel during yor Hockey Tournament. I hope your team won. If the tournament is held in our area again next year we hope you select us for your accommodation needs. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    111
    47
    17
    4
See reviews for
109
78
53
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this property about a dozen times over the past 3 months while in town on business. The staff is always friendly, every room I've had has been spotless and the 6th concierge lounge is above average. Their rates seem to fluctuate quite a bit, but that seems pretty standard for hotels in the area. There is a mall with several large chain restaurants less than a mile away, and just about any other kind of shopping or restaurant you could ask for within a couple minutes drive. My only complaint as a business traveler is their wireless Internet service is down quite often, I've had to call the 24-hour helpline on several occasions but they are always able to resolve "their equipment issues" in pretty short order. I will continue to make this property my home away from home in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We appreciate your business and thank you for returning to our property. We'll keep the cookies warm until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great checkin......6th floor concierge level was convenient with good vittles.

Went way of their way to check me in early and very generous check-out.

Helps if you're a gold/diamond member.

Beds were plush and a little high up.

Rooms were a bit compact.....newer feel...good amenities...great shower.

Lunch was very good service.

My new hotel of choice near Dulles.

Near 28 and 7.......very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks for the review of your most recent stay with us. I am always pleased to read that we have satisfied the needs of our guests. We appreciate your comments and will do our best to continue to deliver the services you deserve and expect. and Thank You for being a loyal Hilton Honors member. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We live about 10 minutes from this hotel...but our hot water heater broke and we needed a place to shower! We were granted an early check in (11am) and were able to take hot showers and get on with our day...and returned the next am to shower, check out and get to work. The place is immaculate and we would have stayed the night but didn't want to leave our dog home alone! We will definetly recommend this hotel to friends and relatives coming to town. The staff was friendly and we were so grateful to get into the room at 11am...nice place in a convenient area especially if you have business in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Diane M.,
Thanks for your kind comments. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs with the shower and hot water due to the difficulty with your hot water heater at home. I wish you would had stayed the night as our beds are very comfortable. We are always pleased to be at our guests service and to help wherever we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree a week ago during a shopping holiday in the DC area. We picked the Doubletree because of the good reviews and prices. While the hotel was very nice and the room very clean, we were disappointed in some of the service. As we drove up to the hotel to check in we were greeted by a large contingent of fire trucks and emergency personnel who had evacuated the hotel due to a toxic spill in the laundry room area. We were certainly understanding of the situation and happy that it appeared the hotel guests were safe. Our disappointment was in the total lack of hotel personnel available to provide information to incoming guests. There were many guests on the property wondering what they should do. For instance, should they book at another property? We decided to go out for dinner and come back later. As luck would have it, by the time we came back, the hotel was back in action. However, the one memory we will have when we think about this particular hotel was their complete of assistance when it was most needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to see that the stay went well and that you were happy with the services you received after check in. As for the incident on Saturday night, the emergency response team handled the incident very well. My staff and I spoke directly to dozens of guests and kept them informed of the situation as best we could. Many guests praised our efforts. I apologize if you were not briefed. I see that you went to dinner during this incident as that was probably the best course of action as we were out of the building for 3 hours.
Rest assured that this incident was isolated and in no way indicative of our operation.
I hope that if travel brings you back to our area you allow us to be at your service again to experience the great level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As always it is a pleasure to stay at the Doubletree Dulles property. Hotel rooms are comfortable, & clean, location is perfect. They are close to the airport, eating facilities, shopping, and just a short drive to Washington D.C. Will definetely stay there again on my next trip to the Virginia/Washington area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at our hotel. I am glad we were able to make your stay awesome. We too look forward to your next visit to our area.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is amazing! The staff is warm and welcoming. Everyone was always smiling and made me feel special through my entire stay. It was so clean and you receive high quality service in every department. I was there for a company function and was able to experience the meeting facilities. It was decorated beautiful, the food was incredible, and the service was the best! After enjoying a great evening I was able to come back to my room and get a comfortable nights rest in their luxury bedding. You need to make sure to wake up from your sweet dreams in time to enjoy their superb breakfast. The entire stay was perfect and exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this hotel for groups, meetings, business, leisure, or someone that just wants to enjoy a great night away from home. It is close to many shops, dining, and even the new National Air and Space Museum. Thank you to the staff of the Doubletree Sterling-Dulles Airport for a stay that will be one of my best memories!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words describing your most recent stay with us. It is comforting to know how well our service is received. I will share your comments with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Sterling
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dulles Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.