We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, CLEAN, and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card Offer
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, CLEAN, and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We live about 10 minutes from this hotel...but our hot water heater broke and we needed a place to shower! We were granted an early check in (11am) and were able to take hot showers and get on with our day...and returned the next am to shower, check out and get to work. The place is immaculate and we would have stayed the night but didn't want to leave our dog home alone! We will definetly recommend this hotel to friends and relatives coming to town. The staff was friendly and we were so grateful to get into the room at 11am...nice place in a convenient area especially if you have business in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Diane M.,
Thanks for your kind comments. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs with the shower and hot water due to the difficulty with your hot water heater at home. I wish you would had stayed the night as our beds are very comfortable. We are always pleased to be at our guests service and to help wherever we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    98
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
93
61
49
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Doubletree a week ago during a shopping holiday in the DC area. We picked the Doubletree because of the good reviews and prices. While the hotel was very nice and the room very clean, we were disappointed in some of the service. As we drove up to the hotel to check in we were greeted by a large contingent of fire trucks and emergency personnel who had evacuated the hotel due to a toxic spill in the laundry room area. We were certainly understanding of the situation and happy that it appeared the hotel guests were safe. Our disappointment was in the total lack of hotel personnel available to provide information to incoming guests. There were many guests on the property wondering what they should do. For instance, should they book at another property? We decided to go out for dinner and come back later. As luck would have it, by the time we came back, the hotel was back in action. However, the one memory we will have when we think about this particular hotel was their complete of assistance when it was most needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the review of your most recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to see that the stay went well and that you were happy with the services you received after check in. As for the incident on Saturday night, the emergency response team handled the incident very well. My staff and I spoke directly to dozens of guests and kept them informed of the situation as best we could. Many guests praised our efforts. I apologize if you were not briefed. I see that you went to dinner during this incident as that was probably the best course of action as we were out of the building for 3 hours.
Rest assured that this incident was isolated and in no way indicative of our operation.
I hope that if travel brings you back to our area you allow us to be at your service again to experience the great level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As always it is a pleasure to stay at the Doubletree Dulles property. Hotel rooms are comfortable, & clean, location is perfect. They are close to the airport, eating facilities, shopping, and just a short drive to Washington D.C. Will definetely stay there again on my next trip to the Virginia/Washington area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at our hotel. I am glad we were able to make your stay awesome. We too look forward to your next visit to our area.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is amazing! The staff is warm and welcoming. Everyone was always smiling and made me feel special through my entire stay. It was so clean and you receive high quality service in every department. I was there for a company function and was able to experience the meeting facilities. It was decorated beautiful, the food was incredible, and the service was the best! After enjoying a great evening I was able to come back to my room and get a comfortable nights rest in their luxury bedding. You need to make sure to wake up from your sweet dreams in time to enjoy their superb breakfast. The entire stay was perfect and exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this hotel for groups, meetings, business, leisure, or someone that just wants to enjoy a great night away from home. It is close to many shops, dining, and even the new National Air and Space Museum. Thank you to the staff of the Doubletree Sterling-Dulles Airport for a stay that will be one of my best memories!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words describing your most recent stay with us. It is comforting to know how well our service is received. I will share your comments with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in Sterling with an organization recently, and our team leader chose the Doubletree Sterling based on a number of factors including room size/setup, group rate and included breakfast (all of which were important for our group of volunteers paying their own way with some splitting rooms).

This hotel worked perfectly for our needs. The rooms for very well equipped and the beds incredibly comfortable. The two queen bed rooms were spacious enough for small meetings, and for larger meetings the 6th floor conference room for larger gatherings. The hotel is only minutes from Dulles airport. The included breakfast was a fresh, hot buffet including eggs, meats, potatoes, baked goods, fresh fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. To say the staff was friendly and accommodating would be understating it. For evening gatherings, the dining room also had a full bar to relax in.

The staff and management have put together a great team and a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our property from your most recent stay with us.
I was happy to see your comments regarding our comfortable beds and accommodating staff. I will share your comments with our staff and ensure we continue providing the same level of service to all of our guests.
We look forward to being at your service again when travel brings you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you looking for comfort, this is the hotel for a good night sleep, beautiful and clean environment. Also many great restaurants and shopping close by. The staff is very welcoming the minute you walk in for check in. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Very quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your favorable review regarding your most recent stay with us. We take great pride in providing a warm welcome and a restful nights sleep. WE appreciate your acknowledgement. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great venue food a special event. Held my daughter's wedding ceremony and reception here. Could not have asked for a better group of people to work with. The food for the reception was exceptional. Guest rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Ray C.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I will share your nice comments with the team regarding your daughters wedding and how happy our efforts made you feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.