We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel--especially if you're a flight crew member” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Gift Card Offer
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Utah native
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel--especially if you're a flight crew member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night, in between our flight back to the U.S. from Europe and our flight home. We chose it because we are Hilton Honors members, and they offered a free airport shuttle.

On the plus side, the hotel was very clean, our room was nice, bed was comfortable, room service was remarkable delicious, and they offer shuttle service anywhere within a mile or so of the hotel so they offered to take us to the nearby mall if we wanted (though we didn't take them up on this offer).

Our 8 hour flight arrived at Dulles on time, and we got through customs in about 30 minutes. We were looking forward to taking the shuttle to the hotel, quickly checking in, and resting--we were both exhausted! Unfortunately, we found that this hotel prioritizes flight crews over ordinary guests, and we had to wait for 30 minutes in parked shuttle at the airport for 2 full flight crews to arrive. Once at the hotel, the flight crews all got their room assignments and rooms keys first--even though we were the first people on the shuttle! They did offer us extra cookies, and some courtesy "honors points", but next time we'll likely pick another property that doesn't show such a huge differentiation between non-airline guests and flight crews.

Last thing to note--this may be the case with all airports near Dulles, I can't say--but this hotel feels far from the airport to be an 'airport' hotel. Definitely over 5 miles away--which may not seem like much, but If your shuttle hits rush hour on the freeway in between the hotel and the airport, it can take awhile to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    98
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
93
61
49
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Clean,comfortable bed I stay in a lot of hotels and this one is a winner.ate dinner and breakfast both where good. Pool,hot tub and weight training room where nice and clean..I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

There are so many hotels to choose from in the Dulles area, one can spend a considerable amount of time researching, comparing, evaluating… and, I did just that. I have a short-list of hotels for this area, but all seemed to be a bit expensive on my date of travel—then, I came across the Doubletree. For a very reasonable rate, I could splurge on a club level room, which featured a Happy Hour (with snacks) and a bountiful buffet breakfast. The staff was simply lovely—the lounge well-decorated and very clean. The rooms were cozy-comfy, lots of space, nice TV. The hotel itself seems quite new on the scene, and is well-appointed and inviting. The front desk staff was also super friendly—There is a free airport shuttle (8-10’), luggage carts, fast elevators, free WIFI & computers to use… and coffee machines in the room. Oh, and those chocolate chip cookies at arrival! Yummy! Although this hotel is closer to Sterling (near great shopping, supermarkets, etc), it is a fabulous choice in the Dulles hotel market and my new go-to property. Happy traveling!

Room Tip: Club floor is wonderful if you receive a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed here overnight earlier this week. It is about 10 minutes by shuttle or cab to the airport. The hotel runs a free shuttle, which makes the airport run every 30 minutes. I took a cab to the hotel ($18 from IAD), since it was late at night, so I can't comment on the ease of pickup, but I took the shuttle back to IAD, and it was fine.

My room was clean, and the complementary high-speed internet and breakfast was fine. The hotel is close to some shopping centers, but there isn't much else of interest nearby as far as I can tell.

Therefore, I think the hotel is a good stopover point for people in and out of IAD, but it isn't close to Metro or other major public transport, so it probably isn't great as a base for tourism unless you plan to drive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel is really nice, clean and in good condition. My room was spacious, the bed good and the bathroom clean and light.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I've run into problems at this hotel in the past, mainly related to front desk personal and the general level of service, but this time I was made to feel welcome and there were no problems at all. It's a little tricky to locate but convenient enough to the airport. The executive lounge had an okay breakfast. Clean room, extremely comfortable bed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ransomville, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel was a great experience. Clean and great service

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Address: 21611 Atlantic Boulevard, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish guest rooms and premium amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Our hotel is located 5 miles away from Washington Dulles International Airport. With our complimentary shuttle service, you'll get easy and convenient access. We're also minutes outside of the nation's capital, Washington D.C., where there are lots of great attractions to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.