We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorful Afghan cuisine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall

Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall
46110 Lake Center Plz, Sterling, VA 20165-5846
703-444-0080
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #35 of 202 restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Afghan
Restaurant details
Hawaii
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Flavorful Afghan cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bread so soft and yet crispy, tasted variety of vegetarian buffet food and all good flavor and not too spicy.Pigeon peas curry was awesome. Ambiance was good and the hall was not noisy either even though the restaurant was pretty much fully occupied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    5
    4
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NoVA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just The Right Size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had the lunch buffet with a group of 8 from work. We all were impressed with the choice, quality and flavor of the food as well as being a very comfortable place to eat. I especially liked that food was "right sized", meaning that pieces were just right to try something and see how it tastes without wasting any. I can go back and get more if I liked it. Good choice of meats, vegetables, salads and condiments in keeping with a mid-eastern fare restaurant. Even the rice pudding was excellent.

The key to me about the buffet at Cherry Blossom is that they don't just go for quantity of food. They pay attention to flavor, at least the flavors that get my toungue happy. That attention to detail will bring me back again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

You can't beat the price for what you get. Highlights off the buffet for me were the okra, the eggplant and the chicken in tomato sauce. The salad bar was an interesting addition that could probably be minimized without any loss to the dining experience. I am not sure who its set up for. It has what looks like bagged green salad, mashed potatoes, corn from a can, tuna salad, hard boiled eggs, beets, three bean salad from a can, hummus and naan. I ate lots and lots of the hummus because it was super yummy, but the other stuff seemed so random! All in all this was a good lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afghan Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a good find in Sterling. There are many different vegetable dishes to sample. The food was tasty and the price was reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It was nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I thought that an Afghan buffet could offer an interesting insight into a unique cultural experience, but it was more a trip to a kabob shop. The salads were just some greens and dressing. The meats were kabob.

Perhaps the biggest surprise is the space. It is in a building with a big windows overlooking a lake (fake or industrially penned in I never could tell). With all those windows and a view, the restaurant is in a smallish room with no usable windows.

I guess that the positive experience is that it was not very expensive, but it was nothing special aside from affording time some time to ponder what is going in next door.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.