We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just The Right Size” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall

Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall
46110 Lake Center Plz, Sterling, VA 20165-5846
703-444-0080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 203 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Afghan
Restaurant details
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just The Right Size”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had the lunch buffet with a group of 8 from work. We all were impressed with the choice, quality and flavor of the food as well as being a very comfortable place to eat. I especially liked that food was "right sized", meaning that pieces were just right to try something and see how it tastes without wasting any. I can go back and get more if I liked it. Good choice of meats, vegetables, salads and condiments in keeping with a mid-eastern fare restaurant. Even the rice pudding was excellent.

The key to me about the buffet at Cherry Blossom is that they don't just go for quantity of food. They pay attention to flavor, at least the flavors that get my toungue happy. That attention to detail will bring me back again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

You can't beat the price for what you get. Highlights off the buffet for me were the okra, the eggplant and the chicken in tomato sauce. The salad bar was an interesting addition that could probably be minimized without any loss to the dining experience. I am not sure who its set up for. It has what looks like bagged green salad, mashed potatoes, corn from a can, tuna salad, hard boiled eggs, beets, three bean salad from a can, hummus and naan. I ate lots and lots of the hummus because it was super yummy, but the other stuff seemed so random! All in all this was a good lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afghan Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a good find in Sterling. There are many different vegetable dishes to sample. The food was tasty and the price was reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It was nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I thought that an Afghan buffet could offer an interesting insight into a unique cultural experience, but it was more a trip to a kabob shop. The salads were just some greens and dressing. The meats were kabob.

Perhaps the biggest surprise is the space. It is in a building with a big windows overlooking a lake (fake or industrially penned in I never could tell). With all those windows and a view, the restaurant is in a smallish room with no usable windows.

I guess that the positive experience is that it was not very expensive, but it was nothing special aside from affording time some time to ponder what is going in next door.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“unpleasant...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

to preface this review, i've got to say that our party of 4 are a reasonable bunch & we can usually find something good to say about most dining experiences that we share together...but it will be hard to do that this time. i am amazed by all the good reviews...i just can't see how they could be deserved. we were treated like a bother by our server...this level of non-service seemed equally bad for all patrons. i never could get an answer from her about which buffet dishes were vegetarian even though i asked her a couple of times. some of the rice dishes tasted like they were prepared from a boxed meal & the corn had to have come from a can. the one positive thing i can say is the hummus & pita bread was good. also, the restaraunt is just a blocked off part of a large banquet hall...this gives the impression that you are dining next to a large, dark, empty cavern...making for a kind of weird atmosphere. one last thing...this is supposed to be an afghan place...but the music that was playing was enigma, enya & other out-of-place tunes. just weird. i gave it a poor instead of terrible because the hummus & pita bread were good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Blossom Restaurant & Banquet Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.