We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain, clean and well-maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45620 Falke Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
mamaroneck, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great bargain, clean and well-maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed here one weekend as a visit to DC. The hotel is a little far outside DC, but the bargain was worth it. The rooms were clean and nice, new furniture. The lobby and hallways were also clean and well-maintained. Best was the breakfast that was included - it was a real breakfast. Two types of eggs, sausages, fruit, waffle-maker and more. We were very happy with our stay and thought the deal was great.

Mike & family from NY

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    60
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
46
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I picked this hotel because I was flying into Dulles late and thought it would be more convenient to stay near the airport and make my way into town the next morning than late at night. There are many hotels near Dulles that offer a free shuttle service. This one had good reviews so I purchased a pre-paid room via EasyClick Travel. Imagine my surprise when I called at 10:40 pm for my ride and the front desk attendant said that their driver routinely goes home at 10:30 and that no one was available to pick me up--despite the fact that their web site said free shuttle service from 6 am until 11 pm on weekdays, which this was.

Having pre-paid for the room, I felt I had no choice but to go there as opposed to one of the many other near airport choices. I grabbed a cab for the short ride and gave a big tip to avoid the wrath of the driver. $20 down the drain. The front desk clerk wasn't apologetic or particularly concerned and certainly didn't offer to reimburse for the cab ride. On top of that, I was hungry and on West Coast time so I was looking to get something to eat. The fast food place next door closed at 9 pm, so all she could suggest was some fruit, cookies or whatever leftovers I could find in the breakfast room.

The next morning when I checked out, the front desk clerk asked how my stay was. I told him the story about not being able to get their shuttle. He apologized, said that I was not the first person that had happened to, took my cell phone number and said his manager would call to see what they could do. It's now 23 days later and no call. And their web site still lists the complimentary shuttle service until 11 pm.

Other than the problem with the shuttle, the hotel was perfectly acceptable. But the continued false web advertising, the lack of concern from the nightime front desk attendant, and the lack of follow-up by their manager reallly leaves a bad taste. Had their manager simply followed up as I was told he/she would, I would have given this hotel a very different rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband & I traveled to the Washington DC area for a conference and stayed at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were large and very nice. The breakfast was quite tasty with a good variety. The hotel itself appears to be very well maintained, very clean, and quite homey. The round the clock refreshments in the lobby were refreshing after long days of seminars and sightseeing! The staff graciously offered us perfect information on restaurants and points of interest, as well as the best way to get to downtown DC. In fact, they gave us a ride on the hotel shuttle to catch the bus into DC and then came & picked us up when we got back! As far as dining goes, while there was only a Burger King within walking distance (right across the driveway), there are several great restaurants just minutes from the hotel. All in all, it was a great experience and I would recommend Country Inn & Suites in Sterlng, VA to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ster, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to complete the trip advisor's survey regarding your recent stay with us. I'll share your nice comments with my staff.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

the hotel was very nice.. looked old from the outside but was very nice inside..
the staff were very friendly and helpful...
the rooms were clean and the shower was great :)
i used the shuttle service the next morning and i did miss out on breakfast but the shuttle driver did ask if i wanted to eat before i left, was nice not to be rushed :)

very nice would love to stay again if i ever needed to

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient shuttle to aiport bookable in half hour slots. Our one bedroom suite was very spacious and well equipped. Plenty of drawer and hanging space. Large bathroom countertop. Lighting in room much better than your average hotel but bathroom lighting not good enough for doing make-up! Good sized work desk. Wi-Fi worked fine. Small fitness room has one running machine, one cross-trainer and a multi-gym.

Main downside is the location, only eating place nearby is Burger King, apart from that youv'e got to drive somewhere. It is only a 10-minute drive from Dulles Airport (but you don't hear any aircraft noise), 20 minutes to Reston Center.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We had a lyaover in Washington on our way to Fort Lauderdale and just needed a decent accomodation that would fit all of us 2 adults and 2 kids. This place, is small and cosy and very friendly. Free hotel shuttle service is excellent and efficient.
There is not much to do around the hotel, so we asked the reception how far to the nearest shopping mall and the taxi cost. No problem they said, our driver will take you there on the way to his next pickup in the airport. And if that was not enough, they told us to just give them a call when we wanted to go back and 15 mins later - they picked us up again. All complimentary - EXCELLENT service. (and nice free cookies for the kids on arrival by the way).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Overall good experience - 2nd floor not great when you on a 13 nite stay.Week day receptionist very unfriendly rude and unhelpful. Weekend person Tina was so different. Breakfasts ok. Handy having Burger King across road. Room good but not great. Looks and feels old, stairs could do with wood revamp. AC noisy. Great shuttle service, very obliging and accommodating. Hotel staff should be fait with what's happening and travel advice on how to access the whats happening events. BEST is the whole hotel is NON smoking ! believe we should have got a better rate for our long 13 night stay. Loved the cookie jar, apples and ice cold fresh fruit flavoured water - very handy with the really hot weather experienced. Overall good and would stay again. We travelled all the way from SA and the only major negative was the week day front office female persona as above.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport

Address: 45620 Falke Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sterling
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport Hotel Sterling
Country Inn And Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport
Country Inn Sterling
Sterling Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int'l. Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.