We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45620 Falke Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel-but with caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed here for five nights on a business trip. First-- the staff is great—the desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the maid did a great job keeping it that way during the stay. Bed was very good and a great selection of pillows etc. Lobby was quite small but well kept up. Internet worked but certainly not high speed- best I could get was 1.2Mb/sec download, less upload. Breakfast was good-- when you could get it. Most days I got breakfast early due to my meeting schedule and there was no problem--30 minutes later the breakfast room was overwhelmed by students and chaparones on field trips, athletic events, etc or by large bus tours --all eating at the same time. Local food choices are awful- but that is due to their location-- only a Burger King across from the entrance and a gas station mini mart in walking distance-- otherwise a 2 1/2 mile drive to a bunch of chain restaurants. The chain restaurants are OK, but if you are tired of the same frozen and reheated chain food, do yourself a favor and drive a couple of miles to Reston Town Center or Herndon for some really good dining choices. There seems to be very little noise intrusion from adjacent rooms (or I had good neighbors) but the door is another matter. Inside your room you can hear every word in the corridor. The location is the source of another problem. Frequent noise during the day from takeoffs at nearby Dulles, loud diesel noises and back up chimes from the early morning trash pickup at the Burger King (at least 2 and possibly 3 times a week—and exactly at 4 AM—trust me), -- worst of all was the tour bus under my window that fired up at 0630 and idled for an hour-- noise and fumes-- told the staff and someone eventually took care of it (or they left) but they should never let a bus idle 3 feet from a hotel and under a bunch of rooms.
Overall a very good place during the quieter times-- and, except for the bus and that cussed garbage truck-- the exterior noise can be mostly covered up by running the fan. If located somewhere less noisy I would give it a 4.5—but, if you wish to stay, I suggest you get a 3rd floor room on the back.
Oh—follow the directions to access the place carefully. It is a very peculiar intersection. Exiting S 28 (Sully road) you must get IMMEDIATELY in the left lane as Old Ox (Sterling) Rd has a divided left turn lane onto Shaw Rd. Once on Shaw, it is a right turn immediately after the gas station. If you mess up and get stuck on Old Ox (Sterling) just drive ½ mile, turn around and enter from Old Ox just before the BK.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenedaWhite, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Thank you for your detailed and honest review of our hotel. Your compliments mean a lot and we're definitely implemented some of your suggestions. I now ask all tour bus drivers to park and load on the sides of the building rather than the front to eliminate some of the extra noise created by the bus. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your hotel experience with us and look forward to hosting you again when you return to the area. If I can be of any assistance, please don't hesitate to call me at 703-435-2700. Warm regards, Zeneda White, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    77
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
71
56
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Very good hotel. Stayed one night on my way to another city. Staff was very friendly, quality of hotel was very good. For the price the hotel was more than one can ask for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenedaWhite, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Thank you for the compliments and taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your hotel experience with us and look forward to hosting you again when you return to the area. If I can be of any assistance, please don't hesitate to call me at 703-435-2700. Warm regards, Zeneda White, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel previously, due to it's convenient location to Dulles airport when arriving from a long overseas flight - and have never been disappointed. Rooms are very clean and well appointed, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We we scheduled to stay December 17-19 at this Country Inn and Suites. We arrived at the hotel late in the evening of the 17th. The airline had lost our luggage and we weren't in the best of moods. Check in went fine, got to our room and it was clean and the beds were comfy, that is all we needed. The next day we heard that a huge snow storm was headed our way. We asked if there would be a way that we could stay an extra night as we didn't want to have to travel to our next hotel with 20 inches of snow expected. They advised that the hotel was booked for the next day, but would do everything they could to accomodate us. We left for the day and by the time we came back, our bags had arrived. They recognized us and gave us the good news. I think that is a rare thing in this day and age. There is so much hustle and bustle that people usually get lost in the crowd. The next morning after breakfast, the person at the front desk, Reggie, knew us right away and said he was working on getting us a room for the day. An hour later, he called us to let us know we had a room. We thought we were all set. That evening we ended up finding out that our flight for the next day had been canceled and would need to spend ANOTHER night at the hotel. Went up to the front desk and Reggie was there again. He said it was not a problem at all. The customer service at this hotel was top notch, the rooms were clean, it is very close to the Dulles Airport. I have zero complaints and only praise. If we ever have to spend another weekend in a blizzard, I hope to spend it there!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

This hotel deserves special recognition for the quality of their beds. Most hotels in this price range have rather unremarkable mattresses and linens, and I was expecting much of the same when I checked into this hotel.

Well, I was wrong. The mattress was extremely comfortable with very good quality linens. We had a room with two queen beds and each bed had 3 fluffy pillows. I rarely find myself snuggling into a hotel bed, but these bed linens were so clean that I had no qualms!

Our hotel room had a number of other thoughtful touches. In addition to the usual coffeemaker setup, we had a fridge, a microwave, and access to complimentary wired internet. The shower curtain rod was bowed to increase the space of the bath shower, and the shower head came with several different settings to customize the water stream.

A complimentary breakfast is included in the stay, and includes a make-your-own waffle iron and a steam table with sausage and french toast sticks. There are also bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The breakfast room is open 24 hours a day to allow access to their coffee machine and juice machine. There is also a jar of chocolate chip cookies at the lobby that was refilled several times during our stay, although I did not try the cookies. Other amenities included a free library of books to borrow during your stay (the selection seemed slanted towards local authors and history, although there were a number of children's books and volumes of poetry), free access to a lobby computer with internet and printer, and a coin washer/dryer on the ground floor.

The Udvar-Hazy Museum is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel, which makes it a nice easy drive. There is also a gas station and Burger King right next to the hotel. We had no problem with parking our car, and the area felt safe. The hotel is very close to the highway but we did not have any problems with noise from traffic even though our room was located at the very end of the building closest to the highway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I used this hotel as part of a "Park & Fly" arrangement in mid October.
The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, clean, and quiet.
Our experience using the hotel airport shuttle was positive and the breakfast was great.
Needless to say, we will stay there again when we need to fly from Dulles.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Staff was mildly friendly, but not too warm. Cookies on desk were yummy and fresh. The room was very clean and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. Our teenager slept on the pull out which was already made up for him. This hotel is about 30 minutes out from Washington, DC & a good location if you are sightseeing in DC. However, it is a little difficult to find. The streets sort of zig zag back & forth and even our GPS thought it was somewhere else. The "heated" indoor pool was freezing, but the outdoor jacuzzi was pleasant although it could have been a little cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Dulles-Gateway
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport

Address: 45620 Falke Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sterling
#4 Business Hotel in Sterling
#7 Family Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport
Country Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles Int`l. Airport Hotel Sterling
Country Inn Sterling
Sterling Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Washington Dulles International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.