We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Farm Museum

Heritage Farm Museum
21668 Heritage Farm Lane, Sterling, VA 20164
571-258-3800
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 17 attractions in Sterling
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kids activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by when in the area for something else, there are some nice interactive aspects. Cow for milking, chicken eggs to collect, general store with merchandise for playing, (all of the above pretend). Tractors to ride on, some dress up clothes. Probably priced a little higher than I thought it should be.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little price of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Enjoyed the pedal tractors, milking the cow and riding the pretend horses. The other exhibits where "too old" for a 5 and 3 year old, but we enjoyed our visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cLove2Travel, Manager at Heritage Farm Museum, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for visiting! The Museum strives to combine traditional Museum exhibits with hands-on interactive exhibits to provide something for everyone in the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terri007
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice place for a field trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I went with my son and his third grade class to the Heritage Farm Museum on November 10, 2012. We were the only group there that day so it made for a lot of hands on attention for the kids. The classes were split up into three groups and each group went to three different stations. The kids were working on simple machines such as levers, pulleys, etc. so a pig part of one of the stations dealt with simple machines. The kids also visited a "country store" where they had to have a shopping list and buy enough food for the week for only $1. They seemed to enjoy this the best of all the stations. They next went to the gift shop where $1 of their money for the trip went for them to purchase something that was in the $1 section. They had quite a nice selection for the students to choose from and they all had a good time. The third one was a comparison between the items they choose in the country store and a clip-board of prices today. They weren't that interested in that exercise.
We will return with our other child in the Spring as I think our other child will enjoy it as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Country Girl Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had my book launch event here in Aug 2011. Since my book is a memoir, I share what it was like growin up "in the country," my hometown actually 180 miles away in another Virginia county.This venue fit the bill for me to share my experiences with guests, from a variety of rural exhibits to even a country store. The staff was excellent; very helpful with setting up the areas and wonderful customer service to all that attended. This place is a treasure

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I took my daughter to the Heritage Farm Museum and she had so much fun! We went during the week and pratically had the whole place to ourselves. They have several sections with wood/plastic animals for children to play with: she groomed horses, milked a cow and collected eggs from a chicken coop! I would recommend this for any family outing!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cLove2Travel, Co-Director at Heritage Farm Museum, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you! We strive to make the Museum a fun, family-friendly experience and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Farm Museum also viewed

 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Heritage Farm Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Farm Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.