We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience, Won't be Back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46001 Waterview Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience, Won't be Back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

From the outside, the hotel appears nicely maintained, has a good location (close to a large mall and plenty of restaurants), and ample parking. Check-in went fine, and the lady at the front desk was even kind enough to print out directions to the nearest metro station with park-and-ride. (Vienna, just in case you were wondering. It's about a 30 minute drive from the hotel.) Inside the hotel, the elevator was rickety and felt unsafe, and the smell of smoke was overwhelming. The place reeked of it. I expected the worst when we opened the door to our room, but instead of smelling entirely of smoke, it stank of bad air freshener with which someone had tried to cover up the smell of smoke. Let me be clear: we had specified a non-smoking room, but clearly no such room existed in this place. The bathroom was dirty, and no toiletries were provided, with the exception of a bar of hand soap. Ask the front desk, they'll tell you about the toiletry vending machine in the laundry area where you can buy a 1.5 oz. bottle of shampoo for $3. Ridiculous. The only reason I didn't give the overall stay a "terrible" rating was the receptionist's willingness to help us find restaurants and the metro station. Avoid this place at all costs! It is over-priced (we paid over 110 dollars a night)... you'd be better off staying somewhere (anywhere!) else.

Room Tip: Don't bother requesting a smoke-free room, the whole place smells like smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    1
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
2
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

PLEASE do not stay here. I "won" this place on a Priceline bid of $38 per night for 4 nights. Including the priceline fee it worked out to about $44 per night. The first greeting for the new guest is a large, dark stain in the lobby carpet. The front desk staff is friendly and professional, but the desk that they work behind is badly scratched. The building itself has fallen into disrepair. When entering the elevator, the scratches (graffiti) on the inside of the doors gave me fair warning of what was yet to come. Walking down the long, very dark hallway to my room, it's obvious that the carpet has not been vacuumed for weeks. Small bits of trash and paper are everywhere. (Later, I spoke with the front desk staff about it and was told that they don't have the manpower to keep it clean). There's a general musty smell about the place; which is no doubt a combination of pets (allowed), smoking (pipes and cigarettes most noticeable), and general neglect. I entered my room and there was the smoke detector hanging from the ceiling by just wires. The air-conditioner sounds like someone is shaking a coffee can full of marbles. Generally, the room is Spartan, but it does have a small kitchen which might come in handy. The refrigerator sounds like a Boeing 747 on takeoff roll.

I pulled down the bedspread........ to find on the pillow........no....... not a complimentary chocolate mint, but...........A PUBIC HAIR !!

There is no daily housekeeping service. It is provided once every seven days. Therefore, fresh towels are to be picked up at the front desk and you must take your trash out to the "trash room". No fitness facility. $4.99 one-time fee for WIFI. As many of you know, there are no refunds on Priceline. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This is a very good Value for money accommodation. It is a clean place. The staffs here are friendly and readily help you on some information that we needed in the nearby surrounding. The manager Anil is a friendly person and is well informed. Being a first time traveler to DC he was of great help in suggesting the transportation means and restaurants nearby. The location is convenient and about .6 miles from the Dulles shopping center. Except for the cold winter time this is a walk able distance.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

After a long day of multiple flight delays and cancellations, I stayed at this property out of necessity (and desperation) until I could fly out of Dulles early the next morning. The hotel decor is spartan, but the room, bathroom, and bed were very clean. Also, the hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. For meals, there is a TGI Fridays within walking distance of the hotel. The only minor negative was that there was no airport shuttle, but it is only a 15-minute taxi ride to Dulles. For what I needed, the hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Spartan decor.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling

Address: 46001 Waterview Plaza, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling
Sterling Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Sterling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.