We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Term Stay in Sterling / Dulles Va.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Long Term Stay in Sterling / Dulles Va.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I am a contractor that spends 100-150 nites on the road each year.
I've tried a bunch of different hotels in the Sterling/Dulles area.
This hotel has all the amenities that I need, like: full size fridge, full stove w/oven, spacious rooms, enough laundry facilities so you don't have to wait.
The hotel has been done over recently so all the rooms are spotless.
The rooms have new flat screen TVs and work stations for doing business.
It's a little off the beaten path but it's within easy walking distance to several restuarants and a grocery store.
Probably the thing that's most overlooked - IT"S QUIET No traffic patterns like other hotels I've stayed at, so I can get A GOOD NITES SLEEP !!!
Don't get me wrong, this is not a high end hotel, but for long term stays, it's a great place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
5
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville,florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

excellent location, very clean, service is wonderful, price was excellent. they are a fantastic group of people that work there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

TownePlace Suites Sterling is a great place to stay in Virginia. The staff was good and the GM, Booker, is exceptional. I enjoyed my time here — so happy that I selected this place over the Dulles location because of the neighboring stores and restaurants as well as the awesome daily continental breakfast. The manager, Booker, is exceptional. He offered to drive several miles to pickup mail delivered to the other TownePlace Suites. The halls did not smell good, but as my only concern, it was most likely caused by the guest's cooking. The property is located to everything you'd ever need, from grocery stores, to the library, a post office, a home depot, the local farmers market and every store you'd love to be close to. The location is remarkable. Highly recommend!


I would highly recommend this Marriott. I really enjoyed my three weeks at this location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

I spent one night here following a stay in another Marriott hotel- the Richmond VA Residence Inn and the 2 hotels could not be further apart in hospitality and amenities yet the Richmond location is cheaper. The TownPlace charges a $100.oo pet fee--not so "pet- friendly", had a non- smoking policy yet had burn holes in the curtains and the lobby is non- existent, business was conducted in an office adjacent to the open door laundry room which had dirty linen strewn all about in clear view. The bathroom had mold in the tub area and the pool is situated right by the parking lot. I would exhaust all other offerings before choosing to stay here again.

  • Liked — It was on my way.
  • Disliked — pet fee, moldy bathroom
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopedale, ma
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

I've stayed here a few times. It is ok, but nothing special to report. Staff was competent and helpful. Location is adjacent to a shopping center, and within a few miles of every store imaginable. It is right across the street from a farmer's market, open Sundays, good produce in the summer.
A unique place to stay a couple miles down Cascades Parkway on the potomac is Algonkian Regional Park Cottages (google it). Advance reservations needed, deposit and so forth, but located in a wooded setting on the river. You will not have the conveniences of the TownPlace Suites however.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2002

have stayed there twice, clean quite extended stay hotel, one of best features the the excellent staff, short term stays get room made every day, kitchen with micro, full refrigator, stove and all kitchen pots and pans, plates furnished. i would recommend it to family or single, opp for one bedroom if can just like home

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Address: 21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.