We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place to stay when visiting DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while taking a visit to DC for 3 days. We were a lil ways from the city but we didn't have no problem taken the metro in Vienna to go to the city ( much easier and not bad for the price of parking and fare!) This hotel is very clean and housekeeping was wonderful. Breakfast was just right for me because I'm not much of a morning person to get up and eat so the grad and go was perfect! Only thing I would ask to be update is the exercise room. The one treadmill is very loud and sounds like its bout to explode, but other then that it was a nice clean hotel with the feeling of being at home with a full kitchen and grocery store right next door. That saves alot when your on a budget and can't afford to eat out all the time! Great Job!

Room Tip: Room's facing towards the parking lot I think is a better view personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
3
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

All in all this hotel does Marriott proud. I had (and have) no idea of how TownPlace Suites are positioned by Marriott compared to regular Residence facilities, but my experience was very positive.

On arrival the check-in was brisk and informative. All staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel was just what I needed for my stay; a clean, safe and no-nonsense place to lay my family's heads, for a night's stopover between flights to/from Dulles airport.

The only slight negative was that the transfer bus from the airport wasn't clearly marked in the way I had been told to expect, but in the event the drivers seemed to come looking for their clients, and all ended well after a little confusion.

Other than that all very good indeed.

Summary:

+ well located for Dulles airport
+ bang on time bus transfers to and from Dulles
+ spacious and well-equipped rooms
+ great check-in experience
+ friendly and helpful staff
+ clean and well maintained suite

- slightly confusing airport transfer pick up service

Key question: under similar circumstances would I stay here again.

Answer: Definitely

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hudson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not what I expected from a Marriott property. The property is out of date, the halls are dark and there is absolutely no sound proofing between suites. I had the misfortune to be next to someone who watched tv all night and heard every word of the show.
The hotel advertises free breakfast, this was a joke. The lobby does not have a single seat and the breakfast that was offered was "grab and go".

All and all I wish I had read reviews before staying at this property and will not be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I'm happy with the stay here. This place is not fancy, the rooms are really outdated, but it is well maintained and clean. Serves the purpose of a hotel room.

The hotel is in a great location! I'd give 5 stars for the location alone.

The reason why I'm giving it only 3 stars is because the rooms are really small - bed is just 2 feet away from the kitchen - so if you cook something, then be prepared to smell it even when you sleep. Also, there aren't enough utensils in the kitchen. The toaster didn't work well with us - when we tried to toast bread, the fire alarm went off. I'd not complain about this if it hadn't happened twice. The bed isn't great either, it is too bouncy.

Overall I'm happy, and don't mind coming back if I can get a good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

OK I have to say one thing before I continue: I booked this hotel through a 3rd party 'bidding' website and only paid $45 per night. I called the hotel and tried to check in one night early and the rate was $169 for that.

That said: The hotel is really nice. No luxury and yes, it is somewhat old, but nicely kept and clean! I probably got the smallest room they had, but still it is pretty huge for one person. Kitchen is fully equipped (even a dishwasher!) and all china and silverware is spotless.
You'll also have a dining table and a couch with a little coffee table.

The bathroom is okay - I definitely have seen smaller ones!

I cannot agree with the person who posted before me: There ARE several food places in walking distance (Boston Market, McD, Starbucks), as well as a Giant and other stores. It is located right off Rte 7, so if you want to stay close to IAD airport and need to go to DC, Reston or McLean every day this is a good location. Dulles Town Center Mall and a lot of restaurants are in the vicinity (you need a car for that).

The free breakfast is okay - Cereals, muffins, bagels, fruit and, most important, coffee! You will have to eat out of a styrofoam bowl and there is only very little sitting space available - but hey, it's FREE! (And the dark roast coffee is very good :) )

So if you are on a budget this hotel is actually very good. (I stayed there for a whole week 'between apartments')

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The two room suite has plenty of room for two people. The kitchenette is nice. I'll definitely stay here again for the price. And as long as you have a car there are plenty of places to get food within a short drive, but not within walking distance other than a gas station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm a dedicated Marriott person, but this property may change that for this area. Staff was friendly enough and the room clean, but it's hard to tell who they are trying to appeal to. Hard to settle in, since there are no luggage racks to get your suitcase off the floor, and no dressers. Two drawers in the nightstand and one under the TV - that's the storage. A functional small kitchen is nice, but there's only one table and no counter seating. So if you're there for a few days and spread your work out on the table, there's no place to eat... We were in a studio room - hope there's more space in the 1-2 bedrooms.

Breakfast is all carbs - but even if you want to eat there, it's a single window seat for as the sole seating available. Without tables/chairs, wish they had some sort of tray to carry food back to the room.

Staff was helpful and pleasant.

Good enough for one person if you're not spending a lot of time in the room.. 1-2 day trip.

Great location, not too far from Dulles, close to shopping and several restaurants.

Room Tip: steer clear of the studios if it's more than a one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles

Address: 21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165 (Formerly Sterling Dulles North Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sterling Dulles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.