We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short stays for one person” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK for short stays for one person”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm a dedicated Marriott person, but this property may change that for this area. Staff was friendly enough and the room clean, but it's hard to tell who they are trying to appeal to. Hard to settle in, since there are no luggage racks to get your suitcase off the floor, and no dressers. Two drawers in the nightstand and one under the TV - that's the storage. A functional small kitchen is nice, but there's only one table and no counter seating. So if you're there for a few days and spread your work out on the table, there's no place to eat... We were in a studio room - hope there's more space in the 1-2 bedrooms.

Breakfast is all carbs - but even if you want to eat there, it's a single window seat for as the sole seating available. Without tables/chairs, wish they had some sort of tray to carry food back to the room.

Staff was helpful and pleasant.

Good enough for one person if you're not spending a lot of time in the room.. 1-2 day trip.

Great location, not too far from Dulles, close to shopping and several restaurants.

Room Tip: steer clear of the studios if it's more than a one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
3
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Towne Place Suites by Marriot while on a weekend trip. LEnght of stay was one night. As others stated, almost drove by the hotel, if it werent for a little sign. Looks more like a typical townhouse complex found in any suburban location.

Was given a room on the first floor. Room was very clean, but did have a slightly musty odor upon entering. Bed was comfortable. Room consisted of a furnished kitchenette, a sitting area with couch/TV, and a well appointed bathroom. My biggest complaint was that the walls were obviously thin. Noise easily traveled from the rooms adjoining ours. It was a late night of kids misbehaving on one side, and a husband/wife talking loudly on the other.

I would recommend for a short stay, if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we entered the property we thought we took a wrong turn until I saw the Quality Inn sign outside the office. It looked like one of those expensive suburban condos. The place was relatively new. The pleasent staff served coffee, tea and home made cookies in the lobby. They provided internet access in the lobby which enabled me to print maps to guide us. The room actually had a full kitchen, yltra clean and cute. The living room had a sofa, a business center type of desk and a large cocktail table.

The only drawback was that, evidently, the only room left was a "disabled" assist room in which the enlarged bathroom takes space away fro the main room.

There was an outdoor patio oiutside the office building with confortable chairs, tables, an outdoor fireplace and a BBQ for use by the guests.

Free continental b'fast was good and the staff was delightful. BTW, it is just outside Dulles Airport, convenient to those leaving by air.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I did like the location of this hotel. It is in more of a residential area and very quiet. There is a Logan's restaurant that is a very short walk to get to. The breakfast provided was not much of anything, unless you just want a muffin. Coffee was fine. I will have to agree that the halls did smell a bit musty, but our room was clean and did not smell. The AC worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This should not be a Marriott, just poor all around, room smells, halls smell, room dirty, noisy, breakfast is a joke. Avoid this place and try a Hilton or anything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

the clerk at the front desk was rude, told me I didn't have the Marriott points I needed when I did. Next she gave me a room that smelled like smoke and told me that others have to check in before they cld give me another room. The replacement room was dirty and the housekeeper didn't come the next day. When I called about it, I was old that she was leaving at 5pm (it was 4:45) and the desk clerk asked ME to come down to the front desk and get my own towels. I checked out soon after and moved to Townplace in Chantilly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here with family folks one night. Room and kitchen were not clean, but what was worse is the a/c stopped working in middle of night, causing room to swelter. Front desk could not fix as no maintenance in middle of night and hotel full so could not move. At checkout, refused refund or any consideration as "its Sunday and there is no manager on duty". The place is poorly maintained, has poor infrastructure, and is a bad value with so many other options. Corporate should look into this place. AVOID.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North

Address: 21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.