We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite literally, an oasis in the storm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quite literally, an oasis in the storm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place was an oasis for our family during the recent storms in the DC area. After day 3 of no power, we bailed on surviving in our hot and powerless house and were able to find 1 room available here and snapped it up. Upon arrival, we were frazzled, hot and exhausted. After an earlier mishap with Hampton Inn (who took our reservation without telling us they also had no power), just the fact that the A/C was on was such a relief. Three cheers for A/C! Anyway, the woman at the desk was so kind to us and got us into our room quickly. She seemed genuinely concerned and was reassuring. Staff overall was super nice. The room itself was good. Yes, it was cool and was clean. The kitchenette we had was great and we made smores to continue with our survival theme. The bed was comfy and my son slept on the sofabed and slept like a log. The desk and internet worked great and the flat screen TV was perfect. The workout room was nice - treadmill worked great but sketchy tv reception in workout room. Breakfast was awesome - had healthy options like yogurt, fruit. We would have stayed an extra night but our neighbors called to say power was back on in our neighborhood! Yippee. So, no time to do laundry at the hotel but we had planned to use their coin operated machines if our stay persisted. Overall, this place was great and preserved our sanity during the after math of the storm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
3
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Park, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

While the room itself was very nice and convenient, upon uncovering my bed for the first night, my sheets were FILTHY. They were extremely wrinkled and I could tell they hadn't been washed since the last person because of the following:

-A dried blood stain
-make up stain
-wrinkled
-didn't feel or smell clean
-upon checking for bed bugs, I lifted the mattress to find crumbs and a pretzel.

I immediately complained to the front desk and demanded new bedding, and the staff member could of cared less. Didn't apologize or even really say anything. He handed me bedding, only to discover that I was only given 1 sheet. I had a very uncomfortable nights sleep and would recommend firing the cleaning staff and adjusting customer service protocol--. I would not stay at this location again.

The continental breakfast is poorly organized as well. There is no table to sit at when you get there, so you have to eat standing up or carry your bowl of ceral and food with no tray or bag across the parking lot and up the stairwell to your room.

Room Tip: Check your room to make sure it was properly cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were supposed to stay here for a long-term stay, but had to leave after our first night. We are a family with young children and we wouldn't let our children crawl on the floor. After seeing a mouse in our room, we moved to a different hotel. While packing our stuff, we also discovered mouse droppings all over the kitchen and in the cabinet in the bathroom. We had family in another room who found the room to be dirty and not well maintained. The hotel is just not clean nor well-maintained. Staff was apologetic after the fact, but still partially charged us. Also, we were pay-ahead as we were there for a long-term stay, and manager demanded all cash up front (several thousand dollars and wouldn't take a cashier's check which is what our bank suggested to us) for our reserved rate. After calling Marriott, they told us this is not a typical practice and apologized. I really wish we would have looked more at the other ratings first before booking this hotel, lesson learned.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, there was no restaurant nor room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We are Marriott Elite members so we stay exclusively at Marriott properties. This one was a disappointment. The women who checked us in wasn't very friendly or good at her job. Her kids were there using the lobby computers. She managed to mess up our reservation so that I had to make 3 trips back to the lobby just to get settled in. The rooms were dirty and the workmanship was shoddy at best. The smoke detector was literally hanging from the ceiling by it's wires. Didn't have linens for the sofabed and had to go get them ourselves since the front desk person told us she was the only one on and couldn't leave. Breakfast was a joke. One small counter, wouldn't even qualify it it as continental. Won't stay at that Marriott again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel staff and house keeping were great! The hotel is an older facility, but is very well maintained. The only item needing attention is the gross over use of air freshner. I had to open the windows in the room some days to clear it out. The breakfast was very nice. There was no meat if that's what you're looking for. There was plenty of English muffins, bagels, cereals, apple and orange juice, apples, oranges and bananas - which I personally prefer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I bid on this hotel through priceline and received a very good price. Having said that, I was very pleased with this hotel regardless of the price. It was easy to access, was near the Giant Super Market and restaurants. I would be very happy to stay at this hotel for the price paid in the future and possibly more. The room had a full size refrigerator, microwave, oven, range, and dishwasher, and a flat screen TV. In addition the hotel was quiet and offere a free continetal breakfast, as well as free coffee all day. The hotel had excellent quality for a mid-grade hotel which I would rnak as a 3 star hotel. This is a great 3 star hotel for extended stays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Good location, near shopping, library, restaurants; kitchen well-supplied; no dresser, just small bed stands; very small grounds but there is large area for dogs to run nearby at NoVA Community Collge; breakfast mostly starch (donuts were moldy one morning); attendants at desk OK but manager was a little intimidating; $100 fee/stay for dogs so not good for short stays

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North

Address: 21123 Whitfield Place, Sterling, VA 20165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Sterling Dulles North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.