We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute reservation, but I felt like Royalty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Hartsville, SC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Last minute reservation, but I felt like Royalty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I missed a late-night connection and needed a hotel in a pinch. I was very frustrated by the circumstances which led to this necessity, but luckily I discovered the TownePlace Suites. Using the complimentary airport shuttle, I arrived at the hotel very quickly. I was greeted in the most professional of manners and treated with a great deal of respect. The desk attendant was very kind, and helped change my negative attitude immediately. It's very difficult to have a frown when someone is genuinely being nice, courteous and professional.

The room was very clean and the amenities were appropriate for this type of hotel. I was pleased with the overall layout of the room, the number of receptacles for charging electronic devices and the temperature when I entered.

The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, but with an added favorite of warmed french toast. I liked that extra touch.

I would highly recommend this hotel. If I get stuck in a similar situation again, I will definitely return to the TownePlace Suites.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
10
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have stayed more than 6 times at this hotel. The last time, I had a problem with my reservation koz I wanted to redeem my points when the hotel was fully booked. The GM, Mr. David, solved my problem in less than 40 minutes! I know how headache this can be & not all Gms do the same thing. I was so impressed by his professionalism, his leadership & his patience. He gets involved with all departments at this hotel, he even provides smokers at the terrace with ashtrays & opens the door to guests! He hooked me up forever along with all new comers. This hotel is getting very popular due to the staff. They are among the best. Thank you all & congratulations, Best Western to have such a special & elegant inside out GM.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice hotel especially for longer stays. Close to Dulles airport. Very friendly and helpful staff, who routinely go out of their way to help. Reliable and speedy Wi-Fi, Breakfast was rather bare bones but the coffee was decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Place is cosy and homely. Front desk greets you with a friendly smile and is very helpful. The suites are big and roomy and well equipped. Great for family or group travel. Will definitely come back to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is minutes from the Airport. There is a shuttle which is suppose to run every 15 minutes (this is also my only complaint about the hotel, there were days I waited well over 45 minutes and one day I took a taxi to the Hotel after waiting 45 minutes) I must also add I was working at the Airport so daily I needed a ride to and from the Airport to the Hotel. I was in a standard room which had everything I could have needed. The kitchen area was great! There was great water pressure in the shower and even a mini walk-in closet. The staff was wonderful and Miss Brenda is the sweetest!! There is not much around the Hotel but there is a shuttle that will run you to near-by resturants and stores. My day started very early, well before the breakfast is schedules to start, but they always tried to have items out for us. The wi-fi worked well and it was easy to connect, never an issue with the wi-fi. Over-all this is an awesome hotel!

Room Tip: I was in room 220 which was in the building across the way from the main building (theres 2 building...
See more room tips
Green Features: I believe that they will only replace the bedding once a week and as typical only offer fresh towels if you place them on the floor instead of hanging them up.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a very nice stay here. The staff was friendly and the breakfast more than met our needs. The room was clean, well accommodated, and had a small kitchen. Was the right price and would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My first contact with the hotel was a call asking for information regarding the advertised free shuttle from Dulles Airport. The receptionist explained that there would be a shuttle every 15 minutes. After waiting for more than 45 minutes, I called again to ask the status of the van, and if it wasn't coming, how far the hotel was from the hotel (in order to estimate cab fare). When I asked these questions, I was berated for not being at the correct pick-up location (I was). I got yelled at for approximately 3 minutes before I could break in and ask how far away the hotel was. So, "free transport" to the hotel cost me almost $15 in cab fare.

When I arrived at the reception area, I was not impressed with its cleanliness or organization. That feeling continued when I went into my room. Although the bed was comfortable, the room was not well-apportioned and was not in good condition.

I checked out the following morning, thankfully, and had breakfast. The breakfast room was dirty and not well kept.

I was highly disappointed with this location, as I have stayed at great Towne Place Suites in the past. I am assuming this location is an outlier and does not represent the company. However, in the future I will be wary if I book a night with this hotel chain!

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your experience with our hotel. the tream at the TownePlace Suites is award winning in customer service and operations, so to hear that we performed well below our high standards is saddening. I want to sincerely apologise to you for your experience and I will assure you we will review our procedures and standards with the team to avoid challenges like this again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport! Located within 4 miles of the Washington Dulles International Airport, the TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport offers a convenient commute for out of town guests. Our all-suite extended stay hotel offers all of the amenities to make you feel at home including, spacious living areas, flexible floor plans, free parking, complimentary Wifi, full kitchens with utensils and dishware, Free hot breakfast, and much more. TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport also offers complimentary shuttle service to the Dulles International Airport and to other local attractions. Ask front desk for shuttle details. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure our Dulles Airport hotel will be sure to meet your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Towneplace Suites Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.