We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is a Marriott but it should not be, rooms smell, pillows smell, noisy fridge in room, toilets don't work, breakfast is a fast food disaster. Avoid it if you can, their have to be better places in the area.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hello richannc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of our guests’ feedback very seriously so that we can always strive to improve their experience staying with us.

We apologize for the experience that you had during your stay and would like to assure you that this is not a typical experience that we hear from our guests and is certainly unacceptable to us. We have taken steps to immediately address the issues with your room and also prevent them from happening elsewhere in the hotel. We are reviewing procedures with our housekeeping team and also investigating ways to improve our breakfast selection.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove how seriously we take our guests comfort and the service we provide.

Sincerely,
Dave Moran
General Manager TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
9
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I love this place. I am here right now! I decided to stay here for one night since I have an early morning flight out of Dulles International in the morning. They have a nice outdoor patio/relaxation spot right near my room. They also have complimentary breakfast. My room looks like an apartment. It has a full mini kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher and a microwave. I have an office space with plenty of room. Television in the livingroom area and one In the bedroom. So cofy! Wow!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

it might be not good for big family in 2dbl room suite to chear only one bathroom , the front desk staff was so freindly and amazeeing to help me find another hotel ,as one bath room only for 5 ppl not accebtabel by me family .beside a/c was bad,the 2nd room so small , its really near the iad a/p .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I just spent eight weeks at the TownePlace Suites in Sterling because of business I was doing at nearby Dulles Airport. First and foremost, the staff, and Manager Dave were hands down the most caring and nicest staff I have ever met at any hotel location. They are always pleasant and accomodate every single request you have with a smile. They are to be commended for their customer service. I stayed in a studio type apartment on the third level and felt like it was my home. I never even had to wash a dish. Housekeeping would load and run my dishwahser for me daily. There is a laundry facility on the second floor which is very conveinent and affordable. $1.50 each for the washer and dryer. It is in an offbeat location as far as getting around if you do not have a vehichle with you. But if you do have your vehicle, your golden. There are soooo many options for shopping and dining all within a 10 miles radius. The Shuttle Service for the hotel does drop off at the shopping locations however only in the evenings between 6pm and 10pm. I would stay at this property again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

this property is located between the Hampton Inn and the Holiday Inn. Our gps took us here no problem. I thought we were turning in to the wrong hotel but our Hotel was actually behind the Hampton. It is a clean place and the staff is very friendly. we booked a two bedroom suite. it had a nice kitchen with stove, fridge, sink and dishwasher, a nice big table to eat at, a living room with a couch and a chair and a coffee table. the bathroom is equipped with a hair dryer. there is a bathtub and shower with good water pressure. the beds are very comfortable. we were located on the ground floor room 116 at the end of the hall. the front desk reception girls were so nice, they baked us cookies. we had oatmeal raison, choc chip and m and m cookies. all complimentary. there is a coffee station in the lobby with excellent coffee and variety of teas. for breakfast they have assorted bagels, muffins and cereals along with fresh fruit and yogurts and two kinds of juice. also cartons of milk. also complimentary from 6 to 9 am. we truly enjoyed our stay and would recomend this place to family and friends. we were in town for a family reunion. we expected to hear air traffic being close to the airport but it was very quiet here. also we had use of the indoor swimming pool and work out facilities at the neighboring Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here for a very short overnight stay for Dulles Airport. Complimentary shuttle very good, and staff were helpful at both check in and check out.
We were upgraded to a 2 bed suite, though we were only there 6 hours, which was welcome and appeared well equipped and clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was available at 5am when we were leaving and was adequate.
I can understand how some reviews say it is not good for restaurants close by, as it is in a quiet area fairly close to airport.
If you are looking for decent accommodation at a reasonable price near Dulles Airport I would definitely recommend Towne Place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last week and the hotel was alright. The kitchen was outdated and the room had a weird smell. Location was terrible. Only one restaurant to choose from walking distance and since it was inside another hotel, it was so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hi Katie28,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can understand why the lack of walk to restaurants may have been inadequate for you, I am sorry to hear you were not able to utilize are complimentary shuttle to the local Towne Centers in the area, which would of offered over 30 different eating choices. The Team here at the TownePlace Suites wants to thank you for staying with us and even though it is a more conducive hotel for the business traveler because of its location, we still want every guest to feel at home when staying with us.

Thank you again for your comments and giving us the pleasure in serving you during your brief stay with us.

David Moran
General Manager TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sterling
#9 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott Washington Dulles TownePlace Suites, your ideal choice for Washington Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott Dulles TownePlace Suites provides convenient lodging in Washington near the Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Towneplace Suites Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.