We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

this property is located between the Hampton Inn and the Holiday Inn. Our gps took us here no problem. I thought we were turning in to the wrong hotel but our Hotel was actually behind the Hampton. It is a clean place and the staff is very friendly. we booked a two bedroom suite. it had a nice kitchen with stove, fridge, sink and dishwasher, a nice big table to eat at, a living room with a couch and a chair and a coffee table. the bathroom is equipped with a hair dryer. there is a bathtub and shower with good water pressure. the beds are very comfortable. we were located on the ground floor room 116 at the end of the hall. the front desk reception girls were so nice, they baked us cookies. we had oatmeal raison, choc chip and m and m cookies. all complimentary. there is a coffee station in the lobby with excellent coffee and variety of teas. for breakfast they have assorted bagels, muffins and cereals along with fresh fruit and yogurts and two kinds of juice. also cartons of milk. also complimentary from 6 to 9 am. we truly enjoyed our stay and would recomend this place to family and friends. we were in town for a family reunion. we expected to hear air traffic being close to the airport but it was very quiet here. also we had use of the indoor swimming pool and work out facilities at the neighboring Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
8
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here for a very short overnight stay for Dulles Airport. Complimentary shuttle very good, and staff were helpful at both check in and check out.
We were upgraded to a 2 bed suite, though we were only there 6 hours, which was welcome and appeared well equipped and clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was available at 5am when we were leaving and was adequate.
I can understand how some reviews say it is not good for restaurants close by, as it is in a quiet area fairly close to airport.
If you are looking for decent accommodation at a reasonable price near Dulles Airport I would definitely recommend Towne Place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last week and the hotel was alright. The kitchen was outdated and the room had a weird smell. Location was terrible. Only one restaurant to choose from walking distance and since it was inside another hotel, it was so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hi Katie28,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can understand why the lack of walk to restaurants may have been inadequate for you, I am sorry to hear you were not able to utilize are complimentary shuttle to the local Towne Centers in the area, which would of offered over 30 different eating choices. The Team here at the TownePlace Suites wants to thank you for staying with us and even though it is a more conducive hotel for the business traveler because of its location, we still want every guest to feel at home when staying with us.

Thank you again for your comments and giving us the pleasure in serving you during your brief stay with us.

David Moran
General Manager TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Have stayed at this property a couple of times prior to flights the next morning. First and foremost, the staff is incredibly pleasant and welcoming. I visit a lot of hotels in my travels, and the folks here are just down right nice people.

As for the hotel, it's an all suite property with studios, one bedroom and two bedroom layouts. The rooms are quite spacious and include a kitchenette with a frig, stove, microwave, etc. I travel alone, but have stayed in the two bedroom suites, which are well suited for a family or small group. The work area is nice and the "living room" is well appointed. The location is great being close to major roadways, Dulles airport, shopping, dining, and the like. As is the case with most facilities in this area, the hotel can be tough to reach during peak traffic times. The volume of vehicles on 28/Sully Road can be suffocating at times, so be prepared to find alternate routes if necessary.

Up until recently, I never considered staying at a TownePlace Suites. No particular reason, I just prefer SpringHill Suites and Courtyard. Now that I've stayed in a couple of these properties, TownePlace is on my personal list of preferred hotels.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Industry, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

The suites are nice. Fridge, stove, microwave all included. Plenty of room to stretch out and relax while traveling! The bed is very comfy and provides a good night's sleep. Very close to the Dulles Town Center mall and great restaurants as well. Easy on and off the freeway and close to many attractions. Overall, a great place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hello hooliganrugger,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We always love hearing from our guests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and all of the extras and amenities we offer our guests to take advantage of. We are also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and get out to the different shops and restaurants. We do also offer a complimentary scheduled shuttle for our guests without a car to get to all of these places as well.

We are looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed just one night before the flight but were very pleased with the service. The reception desk people are very friendly and helpful. we were able to leave a car for free for two weeks. We used the hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel to get our car. we just called the hotel and they sent a shuttle bus right away. we are very satisfied. Thank you to people who works at Towneplace at Dulles.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear romusik,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to get you to and from the airport hassle free! Our park and fly package is a great option for anyone flying through Dulles airport and we are glad to hear you were able to benefit from it.

I will make sure to pass your compliments along to the entire team and on behalf of everyone here we are looking forward to the next chance we will have to serve you.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this TownePlace Suites property from the end of January 2011 until the middle of March 2011. We were there to take care of some of our grandchildren. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was very comfortable. The beds were very comfy and the living and eating and kitchen area was very convenient. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. Anything we wanted they did their best to get for us. Having internet access in the room was great too because my husband needed to work while we were staying there. The property is close to grocery stores and Target and the mall which was very convenient. We would definitely stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Nancy H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

It is great to hear that you felt so well taken care of while you were here visiting your grandchildren. Our hotel is specifically designed for travelers staying for extended periods of time and it is great to hear you were able to take advantage of that. We are also glad to hear that our team was able to take care of all your needs as best as we could to help make your stay easier.

We are looking forward to being able to serve you again when you are visiting the Northern Virginia area again!

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Towneplace Suites Washington Dulles Airport Hotel
Towneplace Suites Sterling
Address: 22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sterling
#9 Family Hotel in Sterling
#11 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott Washington Dulles TownePlace Suites, your ideal choice for Washington Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott Dulles TownePlace Suites provides convenient lodging in Washington near the Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.