We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sterling
GreenLeadersGold level
Merseyside
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Short overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here for a very short overnight stay for Dulles Airport. Complimentary shuttle very good, and staff were helpful at both check in and check out.
We were upgraded to a 2 bed suite, though we were only there 6 hours, which was welcome and appeared well equipped and clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was available at 5am when we were leaving and was adequate.
I can understand how some reviews say it is not good for restaurants close by, as it is in a quiet area fairly close to airport.
If you are looking for decent accommodation at a reasonable price near Dulles Airport I would definitely recommend Towne Place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
9
14
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last week and the hotel was alright. The kitchen was outdated and the room had a weird smell. Location was terrible. Only one restaurant to choose from walking distance and since it was inside another hotel, it was so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hi Katie28,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can understand why the lack of walk to restaurants may have been inadequate for you, I am sorry to hear you were not able to utilize are complimentary shuttle to the local Towne Centers in the area, which would of offered over 30 different eating choices. The Team here at the TownePlace Suites wants to thank you for staying with us and even though it is a more conducive hotel for the business traveler because of its location, we still want every guest to feel at home when staying with us.

Thank you again for your comments and giving us the pleasure in serving you during your brief stay with us.

David Moran
General Manager TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Have stayed at this property a couple of times prior to flights the next morning. First and foremost, the staff is incredibly pleasant and welcoming. I visit a lot of hotels in my travels, and the folks here are just down right nice people.

As for the hotel, it's an all suite property with studios, one bedroom and two bedroom layouts. The rooms are quite spacious and include a kitchenette with a frig, stove, microwave, etc. I travel alone, but have stayed in the two bedroom suites, which are well suited for a family or small group. The work area is nice and the "living room" is well appointed. The location is great being close to major roadways, Dulles airport, shopping, dining, and the like. As is the case with most facilities in this area, the hotel can be tough to reach during peak traffic times. The volume of vehicles on 28/Sully Road can be suffocating at times, so be prepared to find alternate routes if necessary.

Up until recently, I never considered staying at a TownePlace Suites. No particular reason, I just prefer SpringHill Suites and Courtyard. Now that I've stayed in a couple of these properties, TownePlace is on my personal list of preferred hotels.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Industry, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

The suites are nice. Fridge, stove, microwave all included. Plenty of room to stretch out and relax while traveling! The bed is very comfy and provides a good night's sleep. Very close to the Dulles Town Center mall and great restaurants as well. Easy on and off the freeway and close to many attractions. Overall, a great place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hello hooliganrugger,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We always love hearing from our guests.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and all of the extras and amenities we offer our guests to take advantage of. We are also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and get out to the different shops and restaurants. We do also offer a complimentary scheduled shuttle for our guests without a car to get to all of these places as well.

We are looking forward to having another opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed just one night before the flight but were very pleased with the service. The reception desk people are very friendly and helpful. we were able to leave a car for free for two weeks. We used the hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel to get our car. we just called the hotel and they sent a shuttle bus right away. we are very satisfied. Thank you to people who works at Towneplace at Dulles.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear romusik,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to get you to and from the airport hassle free! Our park and fly package is a great option for anyone flying through Dulles airport and we are glad to hear you were able to benefit from it.

I will make sure to pass your compliments along to the entire team and on behalf of everyone here we are looking forward to the next chance we will have to serve you.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this TownePlace Suites property from the end of January 2011 until the middle of March 2011. We were there to take care of some of our grandchildren. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was very comfortable. The beds were very comfy and the living and eating and kitchen area was very convenient. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly. Anything we wanted they did their best to get for us. Having internet access in the room was great too because my husband needed to work while we were staying there. The property is close to grocery stores and Target and the mall which was very convenient. We would definitely stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Nancy H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

It is great to hear that you felt so well taken care of while you were here visiting your grandchildren. Our hotel is specifically designed for travelers staying for extended periods of time and it is great to hear you were able to take advantage of that. We are also glad to hear that our team was able to take care of all your needs as best as we could to help make your stay easier.

We are looking forward to being able to serve you again when you are visiting the Northern Virginia area again!

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at this Marriott TownePlace Suites from February 2011 to July 2011 as part of a relocation. After carefully researching all options, I ultimately chose the Towneplace over Candlewood Suites and Extended Stay America and I am glad I did! For a couple of extra bucks a day you get what you pay for over the other budget minded extended stay chains in the area. A friendly staff available 24 hours a day (not the case at the aforementioned properties), a pool in the summer, and a great breakfast every morning.
I did not plan on staying as long as I did but I am glad I chose this hotel. When it came time to move out, a family emergency arose and I needed to vacate a day early. No problem, they did not charge me, and they even sent me at no charge some items I forgot in the room due to a very rushed and frantic departure.
Some comments here say the hotel is a bit run down. It was built in the 1990's, some rooms have been refurbished, others are original but the entire property is clean. You won't regret staying here for an extended time period. No, it is not the Residence Inn or the Homewood Suites but they are in a higher hotel class and you get what you pay for. You can't expect a Lexus from a Toyota...same here. You get what you need...breakfast, friendly 24 hour staff, free parking, free shuttle to and from Dulles IAD, a pool in the summer, a kitchenette with dishwasher, small gym, and free high speed wireless internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi telleroftruth,

We appreciate very much that you took the time to write such a thoughtful and detailed review about your time staying with us this year. We take pride in providing the best experience possible for our guests and always doing whatever we can to make them feel at home.

Having said that we area extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. Long trips provide unique stresses for our guests and we do what we can to provide special amenities to provide for those needs like a full kitchen in every room. We also know that ultimately for a stay of that length it really is the team that makes the difference and our team takes providing the highest level of service possible to heart and truly makes our guests a part of "the family."

We hope that you will be in the area again soon so we will have another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 22744 Holiday Park Drive, Sterling, VA 20166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sterling
#10 Business Hotel in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Marriott Washington Dulles TownePlace Suites, your ideal choice for Washington Dulles Airport hotels. The Marriott Dulles TownePlace Suites provides convenient lodging in Washington near the Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Sterling
Towneplace Suites Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.