We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and unique rolls make for a great dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aoba Japanese Restaurant

Aoba Japanese Restaurant
20921 Davenport Dr, Sterling, VA 20165-6156
703-430-1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 196 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
“Traditional and unique rolls make for a great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Started with edamame, miso soup, & shrimp tempura. Followed up with the dynamite, orange, dancing eel, caterpillar, and treasure island rolls. All were excellent!! Our favorites were the orange, dynamite and treasure island. Service was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The food is good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I like to go there for lunch, they have quick service and combo menu. They have good teryaki box lunch, where you get a little of everything- some sushi, some tempura,some salad and soup, and some meat and crab rangoon

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank althsnbrns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Is sushi supposed to be bloody?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've been to this location a total of four times. I kept going back because sushi is one of my favorite foods and there aren't a whole lot of options in Sterling. I usually have sushi in DC (SEI in DC and Cafe Asia in Arlington are awesome - I eat at these places very often!!). Anyway, back to Aoba...I've been to this restaurant four times too many. The sushi is average at best. I regularly order sashimi and this is the only place where the yellowtail is always served bloody and mixed colored. Also, they serve the sushi with lemon slices and by the time you get it, the lemon flavor is infused into the sushi. I'm not sure why they do this, other than to hide the freshness of the meat (or lack thereof). The rolls that I have tried are mostly rice.

Seaweed salad might be one of my favorite things to eat...it's definitely NOT fresh here...at all! And they use way too much dressing and it's too sweet....again, hiding lack of freshness?

Finally, the cost is very high for what you get. I spend the equivalent at much nicer places and really get more, once quality and freshness are incorporated.

I've recently moved from Sterling to McLean and I'm closer to my favorite sushi places. But, I'm looking for some sushi places near me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Love Aoba. Go there at least once a week. Sushi is always fresh and delicious. Service is great. Very friendly owner and staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We keep coming back because Aoba has the best Japanese dishes and freshest sushi in the area. Price is a bit pricey for a small strip mall joint but the food is worth every penny! We always order nigiri and rolls as well as the udon and katsu (personal favorites). Weekday lunch menu is a great value!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkk918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aoba Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Aoba Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing