We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always friendly, always good sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aoba Japanese Restaurant

Aoba Japanese Restaurant
20921 Davenport Dr, Sterling, VA 20165-6156
703-430-1234
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 206 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always friendly, always good sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We frequently go to Aoba. (They ask where we've been when it has been a while between visits.) The sushi is always fresh and expertly prepared. The service is friendly and efficient.

Possibly the best sushi and Japanese food in Northern Virginia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the best sushi places in Sterling/Ashburn area. The staff is friendly and accomodating (though sometimes there are language problems) . Went to this place on numerous occasions, never had bad experience. The food is always fresh and made in a creative way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

By far the best Sushi I've had in the area. Their shrimp tempura roll is my absolute fave. I haven't had any food there other than sushi, but what I've had has always been super fresh, really yummy, and not expensive. Well worth your time and money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I lived in Japan for several years; it is difficult to find that quality again. I admit it--I am spoiled.

Aoba does a nice job--the miso soup is light, and I enjoyed the homemade assorted pickles. If I could change that, though, there were two many highly salty pickles--they should include some more of the yellow daikon. It was delicious.

We ticked off the boxes on a piece of paper instead of using the menu, and I am glad we did. We got exactly what we wanted for three people. The spicy tuna roll was really fab, and my daughter convinced me to try the shrimp tempura roll, which I will definitely try again. The eel was really, really good. In fact all the sushi and sushi maki was very good.

Parking is a problem--there are about 5 or 6 restaurants in this mall, and never any parking. Also if you eat here in cold weather, sit on the side of the restaurant that is not near the door. Despite two doors, lots of chilly air moved in every time someone came in to pick up an order for take-out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A good friend of mine had just returned from back to back tours in Tokyo and Seoul respectively and wanted to go out for a meal. I jokingly suggested Japanese and he jumped at the chance to have some good sushi. I had seen Aoba when I had been going to the movie theater that is in the same shopping center, so we went. It is a small little place, but the staff is friendly and efficient. My friend got the Regular sushi platter and I tried the gyoza and the ginger salad. The gyoza was delicious and my friend said the sushi was very reminiscent of his time in Japan. I ended up taking another friend there and again the food was wonderful. Please go and try it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aoba Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Aoba Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoba Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.